Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brier Creek Elementary

Public | K-5 | 787 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2014

We have been at BCES for two years and have had a great experience! Dr. Chambers is extremely visible, supports her staff and the students and runs a tight ship. We are constantly informed about what is going on via e-mail and phone and the teachers - as well as staff - are attentive, caring, professional and on point. My 5th grader thoroughly enjoys BCES and always has positive things to say about BCES. As a parent, I always feel welcomed and there are LOTS of wonderful ways throughout the year to get involved and be a part of the school's success. I am almost sad to have to leave and transition to middle school. BCES Rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Brier Creek is an excellent school. As a licensed teacher (not one that works at this school) and a parent, I couldn't be happier. Dr. Chambers is great and we have had wonderful experiences with the teaching staff. Big kudos to the PTA also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

The experience at Brier Creek is one compared to a private school, the staff is friendly and helpful. Dr chambers and the teachers are some of the best in the county just spending time with any of the teachers you can tell they care. it's a privilege to have my daughter at Brier Creek. Go jets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Great school, great teachers, great principal and very strong academic program! Everything is very well organized. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

This is our first year at BCES, and thus far we have been very impressed with all aspects of the school; from the quality of the teachers, active PTA support, the organized processes the school has in place (signs of a well-run school), to the condition and cleanliness of facility itself. This coming from a parent who was initially reserved about our child attending BC (it was our second YR option) only because I didn't know much about BC. While using standardized test scores can be a good indicator of education quality, as "great schools" site uses to arrive at their 6 out of 10 score, I don't think it is best to rate a school on test scores alone. There are many other factors that contribute to the educational experience, including and most notably parental involvement and proper educational support at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Brier Creek is a fabulous school! This is our first year at the school and the transition went extremely well with our children. This is a very welcoming school. This school and principal have exceeded all our expectations in regards to dealing with learning disabilities that the previous school did not want to acknowledge or help and made our children feel like failures. The staff is great and always there to help the children succeed. They found some issues with our child and immediately provided intervention during the day. The communication with the parents is outstanding and nothing is ever hidden. They provide any test scores/results that a parent requests. The staff will meet with parents at any time to discuss the progress of the children. Our children went to a previous school that only cared about test scores and this school is not like that. They care about the success of the children and provide any necessary help. Our children absolutely love attending Brier Creek Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

Principal chambers has been a great disappointment. She is uncooperative and lacks the skills to communicate to parents in a supportive manner. She is cold and has a diva mentality. Any issue that might result in any poor PR is covered up rather than investigated. Only interested in test results. School does not adequately help children who start to struggle. Teachers are good.


Posted August 2, 2012

My daughter just started at Brier Creek and I have been very impressed with the Principal's accommodations of my needs as a parent, the carpool organization, parent communication, and their strong PTA. I do agree that the PTA seems to be really focused on fundraising - and they seem to do an amazing job at it. I am looking forward to an enjoyable educational partnership with Brier Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

If your child has any kind of learning disability or if they are falling behind in class, there is no help whatsoever. The school principal is more interested in test scores and does not accommodate any assistance for those who fall behind. I am so frustrated of the lack of care and compassion as well as practical advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

My children have both been in this school since kindergarten, and just entered second and fourth grade, respectively. We have a lot of experience with this school (four plus years now) and have been pleasantly surprised by the increase in quality and organization of our boys' educations. The Principal, Dr. Chambers, is incredibly responsive, forward-thinking, and runs a tight ship. She is kind and receptive, and really pays attention to the parents', students', and staff's needs. She also knows how to shift, when necessary, and understands which combinations of students and teachers will work or not. Her hand is in everything, which I appreciate, because I feel like she really has my boys' and the school's best interests at heart. I've noticed that she carefully selects teachers when she hires them. If they do not fit her profile, they will not be hired. Finally, there are many AG opportunities at Brier Creek, and as a parent of a student who participates in many of the AG activities, and is a part of the AG program, I am pleased with the support Brier Creek provides in this area. Similarly, I've noticed a good amount of resources for students who need extra help, too. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My child is getting ready to start 4th grade and we have loved Brier Creek. My other child starts Kindergarten and we are so exicted. This is a great school that doesn't get enough credit. Teachers do not leave because of the strong leadership of the principal, Dr. Chambers. She is young and full of great ideas. The teachers go out of their way to offer after school enrichment. The school board does amazing things every year. This school's future is bright!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Brier creek is a wonderful school. The principal and staff are very friendly and approachable. The teachers are great and offer many after school activities/clubs, Reading, Math Olympiad, Battle of Books, Odyssey of the Mind etc. The AG teacher is amazing. PTA is very strong and very good fund raisers for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

Our son started out in a private school - and it was a miserable experience. They finally told us we weren't welcome back right after our child was diagnosed with ADHD. Our Dr. recommended a year round Wake Co school...which were a bit nervous about based on our experience in private: Brier Creek is AMAZING. They have no issues with our son, in fact, he has excelled. The principal is wonderful, teachers have been great and other parents are VERY involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

We didn't think we would love this school but it has turned out to be excellent. The teachers are caring and the principal is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

i am very..... very... happy at BRIER CREEK ELEMENTARY .Good ,excellent,great ,nice and clean awesome school..........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Our children are very happy at Brier Creek Elementary. Their teachers are top notch and challenge students to reach their full potential. The principal is very enthusiastic and makes a point to stay connected to parents through regular emails and a blog on the school's website. The PTA is strong and sponsors many family events throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

The school needs just some more time for the new changes brought in by new principal. Overall, teachers are friendly and cooperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

Used to be a good school. Unfortunately not anymore. We started since opening, but every year we see the school deteriorating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2010

We have been very happy at Brier Creek. The leadership is excellent; the principal and entire front office staff are very approachable. Both our children have been challenged academically. We were previously at an area private school, and the quality of academics at Brier Creek is on par with our previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

BCES has been a good school. There have been transitions over the last 3 years there including principal retirement, vice principal moved on, instructional coordinator moved on, teachers moving, retiring, etc. Through it all there has been steady improvement in parent/school relations and the school is responsive to issues parents/students have. PTA is in a state of flux and has been active, over emphasizing fundraising at times vs cirriculum.But opportunities for parent involvement are numerous and welcomed. Some over emphasis on test scoring vs learning basics is noted, but teachers are genuinely interested in student improvement yet have their hands tied at times. This is due to a cirriculum schedule that limits them from assisting the students in mastery of a subject, forcing them to push past w/ only rudimentary understanding of a concept. This is apparently district wide per conversation w/ other parents. Overall, safe clean and working.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female63%
Male73%
Black44%
Asian-95%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students57%
Female53%
Male62%
Black39%
Asian80%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students58%
Female68%
Male48%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black41%
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black59%
Asian62%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students65%
Female72%
Male59%
Black59%
Asian69%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically gifted86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 52%
Black 27% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9801 Brier Creek Parkway
Raleigh, NC 27617
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 484-4747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Goddard School
Raleigh, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT