Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
50 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atlas International School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
With a 6 to 1 Student to Teacher ratio, the teachers are able to be extremely effective.

Atlas International School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
The 6 to 1 Teacher to Student Ratio is amazing. The language and music emphasis is really great.


Atlas International School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very kind and caring. They do the best they can, given their constraints.

Atlas International School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
The school bills itself as a homeschool co-op, so the amount of homework is higher. I love teaching my kid, but I just reached the point where it upset me that I had to do it when they came home from school and were already tired/cranky. Why was I paying so much for this when I was doing a lot of the work myself?

Atlas International School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
With just two hours of core class time a day, there really wasn't enough time to develop grit and determination.


Atlas International School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
They follow Core Virtues Literature-Based Character Ed. Each month has a virtue-of-the-month, which is nice. It is mostly up to parents to keep up with this and talk/read about it at home. In the classroom, I feel the teachers are fair with the students and encourage these traits. However, I am aware of on-going bullying that was never fully addressed.

Atlas International School 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
After 8 years at this school, we finally made the decision to leave because the academic needs of my middle two children were not being met. I had talked with teachers and the administration repeatedly for over a year, and very little was done until they realized I was looking elsewhere. I became most frustrated when, at the beginning of first grade, my child's reading level was assessed to be at half of the level she was at by the end of kindergarten, and no one noticed. I had to point this out to them, at which time they offered to reassess; but with such a small class size, why is no one paying attention? It is true that the teachers are caring. And I loved the "family" atmosphere of the school, but when all was said and done, my kids were not receiving an education that measured up to public school standards. My straight-A eighth grader was behind when she began public school this year, particularly in math. She placed in their lower level math class and is struggling to make C's at this point. Her confidence has taken a huge blow, and it has been hard to watch. The foreign language program is nice for exposure. The kids develop a natural accent. However, they do not learn more than what they would learn in 1-2 semesters of foreign language in middle school. Overall, they do an ok job at the elementary level, though they do not consistently live up to their claim to "meet your child at his/her level." They use terms like differentiation, etc, but it is not done effectively. And the middle school curriculum is below average at best. It does not prepare the students for success once they leave the school. This was certainly not the private school education I thought I was paying for.

Atlas International School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
I think they are as effective as possible in their environment. They often run out of time to cover material in depth. Ideally, the parents can fill in this gap. But the reality is that we don't know what gaps to fill in. NC State Standards are being missed by very capable students whose parents aren't teachers and don't know what to look for.


Atlas International School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
High grades are easy to obtain. Late assignments are ok. They let a lot slide. While I understand they don't want to hurt the kids' self-image, they let it go too far.

Atlas International School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
They make the outward appearance of developing these traits. However, in the middle school, the kids were allowed to call another student trailer trash, and tell her she needed to go to rehab, etc, without ever getting in trouble. But the student who was frequently picked on got in trouble because there was a conversation where she may have used a curse word. I am not condoning cursing. But my child heard almost all of the middle school students curse while she was there. It should have been addressed as an issue within the entire middle school, but it was not. And no one should have been allowed to treat another student the way she was treated. Huge double standards exist.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlas International School
1280 Buck Jones Rd, Raleigh, NC  27606
(919) 623-2323
Last modified Atlas International School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Atlas International School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. Top