Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Forest Pines Elementary 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
My child has had a great two years at this school. She has had wonderful teachers and everyone is so helpful at this school. I can't believe she's going to be a 5th grader. - a parent

North Forest Pines Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
I want to say Thank You to Mr. Chuck Sinclair, the music teacher at North Forest Pines Elementary. He does an excellent job of teaching our children and organizing programs such as the Talent Show. He makes my son want to sing! Thank you for all you do, Mr. Sinclair!


North Forest Pines Elementary 3

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
I am very disappointed with new principle. She is not understanding with a parents needs when there is a situation out of control with a parents request for a student to be moved. But new students have priority over the students already there for tract. We took a huge lose when we lost Syreet Smith. She took time to listen and was understanding to help a parent with a situation. It was important for her to take part with class work, activities. It was more than a job to her. You never see the new principle.She is either in her office, meetings, or just gone.Never see her in each class to see how classes are taught. The car pool situation was not thought through at all. It doesn't make sense to send the kids to gym before going to the car pool. It adds a additional 10 minutes to get your child and get home. Actually it is foolish. The old way worked great. Hopefully someone with Wake County will look into this before this school looses its reputation and rating.

North Forest Pines Elementary 3

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Since Syreeta Smith has left the school, it seems that the school has gone down hill. If something don't change the rating will go down. You never see the principal. She don't go around and go into the classrooms like Syreeta did. And this carpool thing is a joke. What was wrong with the way that it was?? I have to get my child out early one day a week to make it to piano lessons because if not she will be late. The principal is not understanding when you go to her with a problem. I never had problems with the teachers but their reputation will go down if the principal don't change.

North Forest Pines Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
These teachers have done a wonderful job at this school! Mrs. Reaume, Mr. Gerdes, L. Smith, K. Smith, Mr. Matthews (PE) and D. Clayton


North Forest Pines Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
We have had some good teachers at this school. Unfortunately, under the new administration their doesn't seem to be any accountability.

North Forest Pines Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
Reading, Math and Vocabulary almost every night along with other activities...The Math homework sent home needs to be something taught in class and made sure the children understand before they are sent home to practice it. Much of the Blackline Masters in Math are challenging. A link needs to be provided with answers or teachers need to spend more time on the concept before moving ahead.

North Forest Pines Elementary
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
No...not anymore under this leadership. There is such a negative atmosphere towards students among some of the teachers. Teachers want quiet robots here.


North Forest Pines Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
Many of the teachers do not treat students with respect. This is a learned behavior. If teachers would model it more, then maybe we would see a change.

North Forest Pines Elementary
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
It's hard to develop character traits in children when many of the staff members do not exhibit themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Forest Pines Elementary
11501 Forest Pines Dr, Raleigh, NC  27614
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (919) 570-2220
Last modified North Forest Pines Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top