Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a kindergartener who has had some learning difficulties, I must say I am very impressed with my experience thus far at SCES. Our teacher and teacher assistant are amazing with my daughter and really strive to make sure she is getting the assistance she needs. Communication with them has been frequent and helpful. The administration has a very positive attitude. Generally the parents are very engaged in the school with frequent volunteering and spending time with their children outside of school, which may be another reason for the success we are seeing here. Most importantly, my daughter loves going to school, despite the challenges she's been facing academically. It's a positive environment for her, and I can't recommend SCES enough.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
Best school in Raleigh, quality education better than private school!!! Wonderful staff that genually care.


Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
the administration of this school is amazing. they are involved and very accessible to parents. they've been understanding and helpful above and beyond what they've needed to be. as for teachers, it's pretty diverse. some of the teachers are unbelievably amazing. some, well, not so much. it may be that the teachers we've had that aren't as good just don't look as good because the amazing ones we've had are truly amazing. in our experience, there is a direct correlation of awesome teachers to their level of desired parental involvement: that is, the teachers who really want their parents to volunteer in their classrooms have shown way more enthusiasm for teaching than the teachers who prefer not to have parents involved.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter moved to this school from Leesville for second grade. We were concerned that a relatively new school would be a step down from Leesville. But we have been very pleased with the teachers and staff at Sycamore Creek. Our daughter loves this school. The chorus is amazing. It seems like 1/2 the school is part of it. The music teacher is retiring but I expect the new teacher will be great. She has big shoes to fill. Consider you child lucky if they get go to this school.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! We have two children that attend, and they both love it. The teachers are supportive and encouraging. The office and admin staff have been incredible and a joy to have met. Thank you Sycamore Creek, we love you!


Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
We just started at this school on Track 2 in July, but have thus far had a great experience with both teachers, office staff and administrators. We have a kiddo without IEP or 504 but requires classroom accommodations. His teacher is willing to tag-team daily goals. Both teachers are experienced and willing to learn whatever it takes to help our kiddos. The principal is a STRONG leader and is clearly highly involved. The expectations of children to achieve and the willingness to find tools to help them do that is unsurpassed in our experience which consists of 5 elementary schools in 2 states.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
SCES is has great teachers and leadership. The PTA is engaged and encourages involvement but doesn't bombard you with requests.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
love this school went their and mom works their asoume school!!!! LOVED IT SO SO SOS OS OSO MUCH


Sycamore Creek Elementary 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a parent
We are so excited to be a part of SCES. The teachers are excellent & have extremely challenging programs. I volunteer at the school every chance that I can and have always received a warm & welcoming greeting from office staff. Parents & family members are encouraged to volunteer. I love the Daily 5 curriculum that was started this year. The principal & assistant principal are amazing and show strong leadership. We had to attend another elementary before but am so happy to now be a part of this awesome/amazing school. I am very encouraged to see the way that staff interacts with each other. Again, we are very fortunate to be a part of this wonderful school. I would highly recommend this school.

Sycamore Creek Elementary 1

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the other 2 parents in reference to the EOG test scores. Once my child needed extra help the environment became hostile. The principal and staff are extremely rude and act like know it alls, when they don't know anything about any family at the school. The teachers are inexperienced and forced us to transfer out of the school. The administration loves when families leave the school, because those families won't bring down the test scores. They basically run the families out of the school that need help, so this is how the school scores so high on EOG's. It is awful that a school is ran like this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sycamore Creek Elementary
10921 Leesville Road, Raleigh, NC  27613
(919) 841-4333
Last modified Sycamore Creek Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sycamore Creek Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top