Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Solomon is a great principal. He knows his students, he is compassionate, strong and realistic. He keeps the boys safe, he CARES about the boys and their families and believes in the mission of Scholarship, Service and Success. Our family appreciates his efforts, lord knows I do not want to spend my days with 268 teenage boys. Mr. Solomon rocks.

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
This is a three year old school in Downtown Raleigh, they have lost some great teachers to promotions and luckily lost some bad teachers. The quality of teachers is drastically increasing every quarter, they are a dynamic, motivated group.


Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Because this school is three years old, it is not systemically perfect. In some cases my son has been justifiably frustrated and was forced to adapt and overcome shortcomings. Much like my life in the real world. As a parent I see some of the issues as huge learning opportunities for my son.

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
Leadership is an acquired skill. The young men at WYMLA have a creed they take seriously, they are their brothers keepers. They monitor dress code and take it upon themselves to promote fairness and honesty with each other. The dress code is great. This is a very diverse school on all fronts racially and economically. When these young men arrive in uniform at 7:30am they are equal and earn respect based on academic and social contributions. My son asks to perform community service and is always asking what we can do to do more.

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 4

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
At 13 years old the gender specific option was perfect for my son. He is a strong student and was in advanced classes with 70% girls when he attended MPMS in West Cary. He was lost in the shuffle, the girls in his class were more mature and seemed to be the preferred students. His grades were solid before WYMLA but are now outstanding. My son is now worried about fitting in with outstanding grades not expensive sneakers. It has been a good experience for my family and my son has grown from it.


Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 1

Posted April 13, 2015
- a student
All of these parents are writing reviews when they do not know what happens at the school. It is very unorganized! Most of the teachers are good but some are just terrible! 90% of the students come from low income houses and kids who would not normally go to college. Most of the students are very bad. Have terrible mouths and are constantly cursing. The school almost never suspends people even when a kid pushed another kid down the stairs and broke his arm. At least 6 kids in the 10th grade currently failed Chemistry! Even though the school is meant to prepare you for college it does not challenge you very much. The only thing good about the school is the 2 years of college and a few good teachers.Overall the school is not very good although they do have an amazing principal who tries a lot.

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a community member
I am a Grand-mother of one of the students at the Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy and I was very impressed with the program that we got to attend on Tuesday, March 17th, 2015. The young men and their teacher, Ms. Jeanine Haigler presented a program based on the history of the Holocaust. Each student worked with a partner to build an exhibit with pictures and models. They had these boards and models set up in a circle around the room, and the guests were able to circulate around to each exhibit and learn about it from the students who had created it. It was obvious that each student had a put a lot of time and effort into the research and collection of pictures about their particular subject, and each student was able to teach guests about what their part of the study was about. I learned a lot and I enjoyed meeting the students as well as hearing their presentations. They were courteous and welcoming to each of us. This is a great example of the fine work that is being done at this school. Karen Kauffman Fletcher

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My son is in middle school and LOVES this school. He is in his second year and loves the small school atmosphere. His teachers really know him and the principal is excellent. The early college program in high school is very exciting as well!


Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
Love this school! This is my son's second year. He has been highly challenged academically and the staff are very concerned about the students. They care about the students and their success.

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school which help student to identify their talents and encourage to develop them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy
567 East Hargett Street, Raleigh, NC  27601
Last modified Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wake Young Men's Leadership Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top