Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Flora Macdonald Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
Our child has attended FMA for 3 years and we are very happy with the direction the school is now heading. sure there have been some problems in the past, however the new headmaster is taking the school in the right direction now. Come and visit the school and see for yourself.

Flora Macdonald Academy 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Our child has been attending Flora MacDonald for two years now and we couldn't be more pleased with the school, the faculty, and the level of education he's been receiving. I have read the previous reviews even before we decided tho send our son to FMA and after two years it is clear that the poor reviews are personality driven and couldn't be farther from the truth. FMA has a great family atmosphere focused on education while installing good values. FMA is a completely integrated school with a friendly, professional and competent staff. The facilities are over 100 years old with a rich historical background which at times are challenging but significantly adds to the charm of the school. I highly recommend FMA and will keep my son here as long as I can.


Flora Macdonald Academy 2

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
if you define a small group as est.100+- students that left this year which leaves you with 65+- students, you must be mistaken about majority won. you call it what you want I call it rite is rite wrong is wrong, must be something wrong when this many leave to go to public school and private schools that are 25 to 30 miles away and also have a mixed race of students and nationalities. go for yourself find out for yourself. Do have good teaching staff could have everything again if they had priorities in order.

Flora Macdonald Academy 5

Posted October 30, 2011
- a parent
I have had children in this school for 17+ years. They all started Pre-K there and continue(d). Oldest one is graduated and had her pick of colleges and univ. to attend thanks to the great education received there. FMA receives no state or fed. funding, has no big donors, and has to relie on tuition alone to provide all the excellent services that parents want in a school. I am happy to say that "most" of the negative people have gone. There was a small but very loud group of locals that do not want to allow people of color to work/attend at this great school but are deflecting onto any other excuse. Fortunately, the majority won. The teachers, Headmistress and staff really care about EVERY child and helping them reach their highest potential. The cold hard facts are that the tuition paid drives the budget. The more students we get, the more services offered. Enthusiasm is contagious! Join the committed people that have the success of the school in mind. Consider the alternative. FMA is the place that everyone wants to be! It feels like a hug when you walk in the door. And I am very proud that my children feel safe, loved, and are college prepared!

Flora Macdonald Academy 2

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
Falling Apart It s only a family atmosphere because, of the few children that are left, most of them are related. It s not hard to know everyone s name when there are not even 100 kids in a PK-12 school. After the 1st 9 weeks of school, there weren t enough students. The administration decided to combine 1st and 2nd grades, 3rd and 4th grades, and put the only 6th grade student with another grade! Parents didn t sign a contract to enroll my child in 1-2 grade or the 3-4 grade , and are not getting a refund! Low enrollment and a misleading administration, your child is worth more.


Flora Macdonald Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
Well worth the investment for your childs future! Come see for yourself why parents stay and find ways to keep their children at FMA one of the only accredited schools within a 30 mile radius. Everyone knows everyone and is supportive. Don't be fooled by negative comments from digruntled parents telling half truths. 10/9 post: school remained open all year & there has consistently been a discount for new students. 10/6 post: fundraising is in all schools, as always you do not need to participate. The only thing that is mandatory is what is in your contract and does not affect your pocket just you being active in one fundraiser. Oct 1 post: 3 headmasters over 8 months...true, but one retired at the end of the school year, the next was hired and left due to helath reasons without ever starting, did a meet and greet and did not start the school year. Just saying to come check out the school before passing judgement on half truths told here. Great family atmosphere!

Flora Macdonald Academy 1

Posted August 09, 2011
- a parent
Not a family atmosphere! In the middle of the 2010-2011 academic year, the administration of this school asked parents for more money or the school would not be able to remain open. This is what they demanded from families who have been loyal to their school year after year. For the 2011-2012 school year they are giving discounts to NEW families not the families who buckled down and dished out the extra cash so we wouldn t close. New families beware. Don t be fooled by their new family discount . In a year, you may be the ones forking out extra cash to keep the lights on . Is this how family is trated?

Flora Macdonald Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
No teaching for an end of year test. Small class size for excellent teaching. Family oriented. No metal detectors or see through backpacks, this school is safe over what is offered in Red Springs. Great choice overall.


Flora Macdonald Academy 1

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
Fund Raising, Fund Raising, and Fund Raising! I get more papers sent home about how this school wants my money, than graded papers! Apparently, my tuition and all the extra fees I paid wasn t enough for my child's education! I'm sick of selling stuff for a school that doesn't provide the college prep education it claimed it would. Future parents and your wallets beware!

Flora Macdonald Academy 1

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
They have had 3 different headmasters in the past 8 months. Several of the teachers are new because many teachers from last year did not return. The enrollment is way down from last year and the school can t afford many new things for the students they have. The books my child uses are more than 10 years old! It is way too expensive for what little you get. We will not be returning next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flora Macdonald Academy
200 North College Street, Red Springs, NC  28377
Last modified Flora Macdonald Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Flora Macdonald Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.