Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Creek High

Public | 9-12 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2009

I graduated Roanoke High in 2007. I enjoyed my 4 years of education there. I think the school is okay. It needs a lot of improvement. The clubs are just considered stuff to do just to get out of class, uniforms are taken more serious than the education. There are not enough classes that would help broaden the strength of students. When I entered college a program called photoshop was introduced to me in a class. Other students was ahead because Roanoke didn't teach a beginners class on that program. I felt embarrassed. On that note all the big classes like history math they had good teachers. Teachers who cared, Teachers who had morals. Some officials didn't care. I went to in school suspension once my whole time there. I was on the outside looking in on the disciplinary actions taken place.(nonsense) Other than i got my diploma. Try it yourself
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

Roanoke is a school I am not planning on sending my grand children. I have a tenth grader and soon to be a rising freshmen and I had a lof of trouble when my other child attended. It was so bad, the concern for students, the unfairly disciplinary action, until I had to with draw my child. They were and still are more focused on uniform policy than the education and learning of the students. The principal is so unfair, so are some of the faculty. I,m so glad God searches the heart and not the outward appearance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

My son will graduate Roanoke high school this May The teachers and staff of roanoke are remarkable. My Son has Aspergers which is a form of Autism ,I was not sure he would ever graduate much less make honor roll . My great appreciation goes out to former principal Vickie Dixon and to present principal Dennis Hart and to the other teachers at Roanoke High School for the support and understanding over the last four years. Some people who believe that school adminastrators need to be strict but they need to be fair too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Roanoke has the ability to grow. It can be a great school if the Board of Education would support them. All of the support in the county usually goes to Williamston HS due to their size. As a Roanoke graduate, the teachers were amazing. Yes, its true, if you didn't care to learn anything you would think they teachers disliked you. If you showed effort, you would have no problem getting along. We did have discipline problems at Roanoke however it was no where near the levels that other people in the county thought. Roanoke's reputation is that its full of troublemakers. Truth is, we had less trouble than the other schools in the county. Overall, Roanoke is a good school with a bad reputation because of its location.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2005

Roanoke has a nice facility, but when it comes to a high level of learning, sadly that's where Roanoke lacks. They don't offer the classes that will allow the students to achieve more with there education. The athletics has a great history, but the clubs aren't really taken seriously. There are a lot of better schools surrounding Roanoke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2005

I graduated from Roanoke a little while ago. The education requirements were low. There a few good teachers at Roanoke--ones that truly care about the students and their education. I visit the school from time to time now. Nothing has changed much though. The principal is not in tough with the students at all. The education provided there is just enough. Roanoke is not the worst school in the world, but it is the overlooked school in Martin County. I would suggest enrolling your child in another school like Williamston High because that school gets the most attention by the Martin County Board of Education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2004

I recently graduated from Roanoke. I don't suggest that any parent enroll their child here. The quality of education and dedication of the staff is very low. There were hardly enough seats and rarely enough books. Discipline problems were high and students were hardly ever treated fairly. If had to do it all over again I would have attended another high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2004

I believe that when measuring the level of education only, Roanoke would receive a score of 4. Other Martin County schools have higher levels than this school. I believe that 70% of the teachers truly care about the students and their learning. I believe that the other administration, such as secretaries and disciplinary staff, are closer to truly knowing the students than the prinicipal is. Roanoke is a nice school--a school that I attended and so did my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

125 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

121 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students14%
Female20%
Male9%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students11%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English14%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students23%
Female18%
Male28%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities23%
Non-disabled students23%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students44%
Female51%
Male39%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 26%
White 32% 52%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Phillip Alan Hagen
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 795-4187

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21077 North Carolina 903
Robersonville, NC 27871
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 795-4081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bear Grass High School
Williamston, NC





Riverside High
Williamston, NC


Hobgood Academy
Hobgood, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT