Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


R-S Middle School 1

Posted December 03, 2011
- a community member
I know the school has a lot of bullying at it. it seems that a child can be bullied daily and no teacher or staff member will see any of it; although, the individual being bullied about a year of constance abuse from half the class, and shun by the other half, the child finally hits back and "WOW" what you know they seen it. Then both children end up expelled; however, what s odd is none of the bullies get expelled till some poor kid defends himself. I was shocked when I heard some of the kids at the school saying their motto among the kids are Snitches earn Stitches. One must wonder are we sending our kids to school or prison with that motto.

R-S Middle School 3

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
I have to agree with a past post, i am very surprised to know that they seperate the kids taking high school credit, the above average kids and then the average to below on different floors Having the kids mixed would allow some kids behind to get needed help from the smarter kids because not all teachers can give that one on one time a child needs. Also the school is looking into getting ALL the students laptops but want a donation of $1200 from all parents. Thats crazy. They should look at building a new school for these kids instead because this school is not taken care of and they barely have AC/heat in the classrooms. Also they have lockers in the halls but only let the "smarter kids" taking high school credits use them. No other students have lockers at all.


R-S Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a student
I am a student at RS middle and I have to say that this school could be better.There are fights that go on and I notice they like to talk bad about other schools in the county.Most people already have their group of friends and sometimes kids may get a little 2-faced and they do talk back to their teachers.The new principal is way more strict than the last one and I feel many students dont get the help they need in their classes.I often see many students that dont do their work and I have heard many kids say this school is lame.

R-S Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

R-S Middle School 1

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
The school does not do any fact finding on staff accusations. Furthermore, if a student makes a mistake in previous year at this school, it is held against them the three years they are there and punishments accumulate. For example; if a student gets an in school suspension in 7th grade and does something that the staff deems similar in 8th grade then an out of school suspension is issued. There is also no programs in place to help students that are struggling with academics. Instead they have 'teams'. These teams are actually segregation. The 'smart' kids are on the same team, the kids that need some help are on a different team and the kids that need the most help are on a team and then the special needs kids are together. There is no opportunity for the kids to learn from each other.


R-S Middle School 2

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

R-S Middle School 4

Posted May 24, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

R-S Middle School 5

Posted December 02, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


R-S Middle School 5

Posted July 20, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R-S Middle School
545 Charlotte Road, Rutherfordton, NC  28139
(828) 286-4461
Last modified R-S Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
R-S Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.