Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Knollwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 702 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2013

This is a great school, the principal is great. My son has been there for kindergarten and 1st grade. And we love the school, the teachers really care and the PTA is always keeping the parents involved. They always have different events to keep the parents involved with the school or child's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My child will be attending in the fall in kindergarden and I am really terrified. I have started to hear negative things about the school and many of the comments I have read have been negative. I am really hoping for the best.


Posted November 27, 2012

Very please on the progress that my son is showing. He is in KG with Mrs. Jones/Ms. Cannon. They are very pleasent and alway display postivity to the kids evening when their little minds are in other places. I am glad he is at this school and look forward to his continious progress!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter will be starting first grade at Knollwood this year and from all the reviews I've read I'm terrified. We have not started the school year yet but I have already applied for a transfer. We were denied because my reasons weren't good enough. It scares me how low the test scores and ratings are. We are new to the area and came from a wonderful school. My child is very smart and ahead for her age but I'm concerned that she may fall behind. I am a parent that is very concerned about my childs education. I hate feeling like I have sacrificed my child becauae of our decision to move. At this point I'm almost ready to quit my job, eat sugar sandwiches and hot water soup for dinner every night so that I can homeschool my child. I hope and pray that we will not have a bad experience like others have had. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

I moved my children to this school right after christmas because me moved out of millbridge district. I very much regret changing them to this school. My daughter is in 5th grade and she is a very good student but has had nothing but problems from her teacher. My son is in 1st grade and we have had nothing but problems from his teacher also. My children were doing excellent at Millbridge Elementary and I hate that I moved them. I'm very much regreting it. My daughter had all "A" and now she is on the vurge of failing. My son's teacher also labeled him when he got to this school and I am very unhappy with the two teachers teaching methods and snootiness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

The Principal's are excellent. The teacher my son had for second grade (Mrs. Perry is a very gifted teacher) she really helped him master second grade skills and way beyond. There were many nice family activities that were well planned and unique. The office staff is friendly and helpful. Very nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female39%
Male29%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female39%
Male22%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students34%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female40%
Male34%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students22%
Female22%
Male21%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students25%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female54%
Male35%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students27%
Female34%
Male21%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students41%
Female56%
Male28%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 14%
White 36% 52%
Black 10% 26%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Shonda R Hairston
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 855-1703

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3075 Shue Road
Salisbury, NC 28147
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 857-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Salisbury Academy
Salisbury, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT