Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
227 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
Our family has multiple students at SHCS. The teachers are second to none and I feel strongly that our children will be academically prepared to be successful in the future. Academics are only a smart part of what makes this school so great. Our children are also being spiritually prepared to go out into the world. We love that our children attend weekly Masses with their classmates and teachers, pray together every morning and afternoon, and see Priests and other religious members in the hallways everyday. I applaud the wonderful teachers for not only being great in the classroom, but also being role models outside of the classroom.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 1

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Let's be realistic, this school does not promote the best atmosphere. As a matter of fact it very closely resembles that of the public school system. The only benefit my child receives from going to Sacred Heart Catholic School is religion. I've noticed that a few teachers carry the wait of the school. The front office is extremely unprofessional and lack the intestinal fortitude to do the right thing when met with adversity. The candor responses that were previously posted by other parents is not an accurate depiction of what is going on in our school. However, I believe with the proper leadership Sacred Heart has the platform to be an outstanding Christian School, but it currently lacks candor, honor, and above all loyalty to its staff and families. In short, the school is in dire straights of leadership and desperately needs an ecliptic group of individuals to help spearhead the future of Sacred Heart Catholic School.


Sacred Heart Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Our teachers are truly a blessing in disguise. They generally know who they are, but sometimes words are simply not enough.

Sacred Heart Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
As a whole, we have some phenomenonal (individuals) teachers. You can always tell the ones that care. Generally when we pick the kids up from after school we see the same teachers. These teachers have the drive and determination that I hope my kids aspire to be like.

Sacred Heart Catholic School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
I think the school provides a foundation. However, these attributes start at the home, not the school.


Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has a family atmosphere that has each child's best interest at heart. The education and values my children are receiving at this school could not be better.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
I have been a part of this school for many years. I went to school here and now my children attend this school. The academic experience rooted in Catholic faith makes this school second-to-none.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
We have had 4 kids go to this school. We knew it was a great school. We had that confirmed when our oldest not only tested into the highest Math and English classes in a great Catholic High School but is also getting outstanding grades in those classes.


Sacred Heart Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Having the Catholic faith as a foundation develops honesty, integrity and fairness in its students just as Jesus taught.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 2

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
I have several children many years apart who have attended SHCS. At one time SHCS was a good school, but the current administration has created an environment where incompetence, bullying and nepotism flourishes while integrity, character and academic standards have fallen to an all time low. The current administration does not have the education or experience necessary to provide true leadership. The teachers are put in a very difficult situation with classroom overcrowding, lack of textbooks, and zero guidance from the administration. Parent/teacher meetings are discouraged making it impossible to have any sort of meaningful dialogue between parents and teachers. Bullying, on all levels, has become rampant. Teachers are permitted to call students stupid or slow and the principle claims that this is just teasing. Hidden fees, such as a $100 mandatory lottery ticket purchase, are common. The office staff is simply rude. This is the same staff the school has had for years so I blame the current administration for not requiring more professional behavior. From the outside the school looks wonderful, but it is a façade, all show with very little substance. Unfortunately the public schools in the area are not consistent in providing quality education so parents are left with few educational options.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Catholic School
385 Lumen Christi Lane, Salisbury, NC  28147
(704) 633-2841
Last modified Sacred Heart Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top