Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 553 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

My children attended this school from kindergarten through 5th grade and excelled. The teachers are great. Very committed and caring. If only the parents would be that committed to their children's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I am a parent and I really love this school. The parents and staff here have become more and more involved each year. If you are a parent, I encourage you to get involved. It will only make Koontz better. Staff and children are great. So lucky to have a school like Koontz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Parent involvement needs to improve, but doesn't it at every school. This school has improved its AYP percentages by leaps! Children at Koontz are happy and teachers are engaging.


Posted May 20, 2012

My daughter loves this school and she is obtaining a terrific education. The students' learning environment is motivating and clean. The children seem truly happy at this school. I would not have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

The earlier reviews that are negative are certainly not indicative of the school rating in my opinion. The school is clean and technology is the latest. Children are engaged and teachers make learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

I love this school. They are a very high tech school this year. The classrooms are clean. Playgrounds are safe. Teachers are enthusiastic as well as the principal. I am glad I did not pay attention to earlier reviews and sent my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

I have been pleased with the amount of progress this school has had. My child has been going to Koontz for 3 years now. He is now in 4th grade. His teacher last year worked with him constantly to get his reading on level and he excelled in math so much so that she worked with him on above 3rd grade work. The teachers and given a bad name for things that are beyond their control. From personal experience I know that few parents want to be involved and childrens behavior is a big issue. The teachers are doing their best to teach at the highest level they can. I will keep my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I as well am haveing issues with this school. We recently moved here and the work they are having my son do in 1st grade at this school he did in Pre-K and Kindergarten where we lived previously. Also in addition to the other parent about her son being told "NO TATTLEING" we are having the same issue for our son today he was in trouble for telling a child he was going to hit him yes this is wrong but the problem is my son was told this "no tattleing" thing and the child he threatened was pushing and shoving him and since he can't tattle he gets in trouble for acting out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I do not like this school. My son is doing poorly in reading. They don't help him with his class work, it is always coming home unfinished. I talked to the principal about getting him moved to another class and they refussed to move him to another class. My son is getting picked on and the teacher won't do anything, I tolf him to tell hi teacher when a kid picks on him and he said he is not allowed to tattle, he says the teacher always says 'No tattleing'. They don't care about the kids or there future. I will try to transfer him to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

This school has dedicated teachers and administrators. Every child is given a chance to succeed. I am very pleased with the progress I have seen taking place at this school during the 2008-2009 school year. It is obvious that teachers care about the well-being and success of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

This is my children's 2nd and final year @ this school. My children have gone from AIG to barely passing very quickly. This school only teaches kids what they need to know to barely pass EOG's. We are transferring out and will be spending all summer trying to catch up with the other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students26%
Female36%
Male16%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students19%
Female28%
Male9%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students20%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students11%
Female8%
Male13%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracial10%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students11%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students18%
Female16%
Male20%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English19%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students20%
Female18%
Male21%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students24%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students12%
Female16%
Male8%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students15%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant12%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students17%
Female16%
Male18%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 26%
Hispanic 24% 14%
White 21% 52%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Mary M Hemphill
Fax number
  • (704) 216-0294

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

685 East Ritchie Road
Salisbury, NC 28146
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 216-0273

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Salisbury Academy
Salisbury, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT