Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My children attended this school from kindergarten through 5th grade and excelled. The teachers are great. Very committed and caring. If only the parents would be that committed to their children's success.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent and I really love this school. The parents and staff here have become more and more involved each year. If you are a parent, I encourage you to get involved. It will only make Koontz better. Staff and children are great. So lucky to have a school like Koontz.


Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a community member
Parent involvement needs to improve, but doesn't it at every school. This school has improved its AYP percentages by leaps! Children at Koontz are happy and teachers are engaging.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter loves this school and she is obtaining a terrific education. The students' learning environment is motivating and clean. The children seem truly happy at this school. I would not have it any other way.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
The earlier reviews that are negative are certainly not indicative of the school rating in my opinion. The school is clean and technology is the latest. Children are engaged and teachers make learning fun.


Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. They are a very high tech school this year. The classrooms are clean. Playgrounds are safe. Teachers are enthusiastic as well as the principal. I am glad I did not pay attention to earlier reviews and sent my child here.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 4

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
I have been pleased with the amount of progress this school has had. My child has been going to Koontz for 3 years now. He is now in 4th grade. His teacher last year worked with him constantly to get his reading on level and he excelled in math so much so that she worked with him on above 3rd grade work. The teachers and given a bad name for things that are beyond their control. From personal experience I know that few parents want to be involved and childrens behavior is a big issue. The teachers are doing their best to teach at the highest level they can. I will keep my child in this school.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I as well am haveing issues with this school. We recently moved here and the work they are having my son do in 1st grade at this school he did in Pre-K and Kindergarten where we lived previously. Also in addition to the other parent about her son being told "NO TATTLEING" we are having the same issue for our son today he was in trouble for telling a child he was going to hit him yes this is wrong but the problem is my son was told this "no tattleing" thing and the child he threatened was pushing and shoving him and since he can't tattle he gets in trouble for acting out.


Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I do not like this school. My son is doing poorly in reading. They don't help him with his class work, it is always coming home unfinished. I talked to the principal about getting him moved to another class and they refussed to move him to another class. My son is getting picked on and the teacher won't do anything, I tolf him to tell hi teacher when a kid picks on him and he said he is not allowed to tattle, he says the teacher always says 'No tattleing'. They don't care about the kids or there future. I will try to transfer him to another school.

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
This school has dedicated teachers and administrators. Every child is given a chance to succeed. I am very pleased with the progress I have seen taking place at this school during the 2008-2009 school year. It is obvious that teachers care about the well-being and success of their students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School
685 East Ritchie Road, Salisbury, NC  28146
(704) 216-0273
Last modified Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.