Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,083 students|Lee County Schools
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southern Lee High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
This strongly depends on what type of courses you sign up for, ex: honors, ap, etc. It's all about how far you want to push yourself in high school.

Southern Lee High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
There are rules in place, the principal expects the rules to be followed but he respects the students and they respect him. He's a great leader and a strong one!


Southern Lee High School 5

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
Great school, great sports, school spirit is amazing! It's a family! Hope everyone is lucky enough to have the same feeling at their own school.

Southern Lee High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
These teachers go above and beyond to make sure my child performs his best. They are so willing to help and they are all on the same page.

Southern Lee High School 1

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I have had 3 students at SLHS since 2009. In those 5 years, SLHS has gone through 3 or 4 principals. The last principal was horrible & the current principal is useless. They focus on ridiculous rules ("since fights happen at the end of lunch, we will shave 5 minutes off of everyone's lunch so they won't have time to fight" - like I said, ridiculous), and football. My 3rd senior has been in gifted classes, and signed up for 4 AP classes for his last year - he only got ONE of them. AP classes and advancement in academics is not promoted. They simply want to push the students through like sheep. My son skipped 2 grades, and only lacked 2 credits for graduation this year. Instead of rewarding such academic achievement, he's in mindless electives instead. The only good thing at this school is the JROTC program. I went to 9 schools growing up - private and public. As a military family, my children (5 of my 7 kids) have gone to a total of 17 schools, and Southern Lee High School is hands down the WORST of the WORST. It's hard for me to even fathom how terrible this school is, and I've had kids there for 5 long years. Something needs to be done!!!


Southern Lee High School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
Great community school! Large enough without being overwhelming. Great teachers,students, and parents.

Southern Lee High School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2009
- a student
I am a freshman in High School and I went to Southern Lee High for the beggining of this year and I can say that it is one of the best schools I have ever attended. I have went to various schools in North Carolina and Louisiana but this has got to be the best by far. I am currently attending Sarepta High School in Sarepta LA but I can say that Southern surpasses it on may levels. There are so many different classes and many different extra-curricular activities that it is impossible to get bored with the classes you are taking. There is always something going on. There are many different sports and/or clubs to choose from and the staff is great. There are rarely ever major disipline problems adn very few minor problems. The principle is wonderful. He gets involved with everything. This is a great school.

Southern Lee High School 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a parent
As parents of three Southern Lee students, I can tell you that we are proud of the educational opportunities our children have been provided. Our oldest (a senior) will apply to colleges this year with a transcript that is well rounded, extracurricular activities that were challenging, and test results that are well above average. We're proud of the progress made by such a 'young' school and look forward to even more successes as our new principal takes over.


Southern Lee High School 4

Posted July 06, 2008
- a student
in my opinion, southern exceeds lee county high school...by far. when you first walk in the door your welcomed by a bright and happy atmosphere. it's also really clean, which is a huge difference the lee county. school pride is taken to the max and i think that's really important. our former principal, mr lassiter, was absolutely amazing. he listened to everyones needs and did'nt favor just one group. he will truely be missed. To everyone who believes their child 'hasn't learned anything' or believes southern is 'ignorant of the important issues' is just ignorant themselves. i've been at southern for 2 years and i love it. ya'll are wrong! :]

Southern Lee High School 5

Posted May 22, 2008
- a student
When Hans Lassiter was there, It was a great school. Now it's slipping.... Personal experience!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southern Lee High School
2301 Tramway Road, Sanford, NC  27332
(919) 718-2400
Last modified Southern Lee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southern Lee High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top