Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Great school since Mr Jewett came. He is amazing and has made the school an A+. I find all other staff to be great as well, with very few exceptions. These people care about the kids so much. I feel blessed that my kids get to go here!

West Smithfield Elementary 1

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the other post - The Assistant Principal rules the school by intimidation and bullies the students while the Principal is clueless to what goes on in his school. This school is back on probation, and we pulled our son out of this school because the way the teachers spend more time in petty issues than teaching!! They will be losing their academic enhancement schedule next year, which was one of the only positives this school had to offer, as it was seen as a failed experiment.


West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
WSE has been a wonderful experience to our older son as it has been for our whole family. We have the blessings of loving, caring and dedicated school staff from the teachers, to the TA's, and Principal, and Asistant Principal. They have a fantastic program that it is offered on each Seasons, that it is called Intersession where the students learn hands on about everything related to the theme for the Season. Our son loves it!!!! We have been at this great little school for 2 and a half years now, since our son first got into Kindergarteen, and our youngest one can't wait to start there next school year. We are very proud of being part of this school, GO WSE!!!

West Smithfield Elementary 1

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
This school is disgraceful! There are horrible teachers and administrators who do not follow through or know what is going on in the school. While i like most of the staff, a few rotten apples ruin the batch.

West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school! I am very happy with the staff and teachers. The teaching is innovative and adapted to the individual child's needs. My two children have enjoyed attending this school.


West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted August 04, 2007
- a parent
They have a very caring staff.They interact with parents very well.

West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted April 29, 2006
- a parent
I have a child in 2nd grade and one will start Kindergarten this upcoming school year. This school is 3 years old, and has accomplished alot in this short period of time. This school is an Accelerated School and has been selected as a 'National Demonstration Site'! That means other schools from different states will come and look at our school to see what we have done. The teachers and staff are great! They make you feel welcomed. You can feel comfortable sitting in on your child's class, and before you know it you want to be involved in helping out too. This school does have music, art, PE, media. Also 3rd-5th graders get to pick an elective that is outside of normal class work. This school has a great literacy program. This school is very diversed!

West Smithfield Elementary 5

Posted January 05, 2006
- a parent
W. Snithfield is the only Accelerated school in Johnston County! It is a wonderful school filled with intelligent, caring, creative teachers who are willing to go the extra mile for their students. Our children are exposed to many different ways of learning rather than just traditional methods! Every child is valued and seen for the all of their wonderful accomplishments-big and small! Great School! My family highly recommends West Smithfield Elementary!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Smithfield Elementary
2665 Galilee Road, Smithfield, NC  27577
(919) 989-6418
Last modified West Smithfield Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Smithfield Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top