Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smithfield-Selma High

Public | 9-12 | 1191 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2013

Smithfiled-Selma Highschool is very encouraging when it comes to my education. They provide all of my classmates and I the very best opportunites such as Honors, AP and now the IB program courses. The IB program is a global diploma that is seen highly impressive to colleges. Although this school has much put down in the past, this school is now at its turning point to fulfill its greatest potential.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2012

My daughter attends SSS and I am very pleased with her education. She takes honors classes, is active in clubs and sports. Academically she is very challenged. Her teachers are all excellent and promptly reply to my emails when I have questions. I see Mr. Taylor, the principal, at most events. He is always available for questions. Folks in the office are always courteous and helpful. Our PTO keeps us informed about what's going on. She hasn't had any problems with other students and I think that our diverse student population is helpful in learning to navigate the world after graduation. Beginning in fall '14 SSS will have an IB programme. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

SSS has a diverse population in many respects....economic, the student's personal drive to succeed, intellectual agility, ethnic group, and whether they have support (or not) at home....all of these things set the stage for the student experience. If your child wants to take challenging classes and apply themselves, and if you support that effort, there is ample opportunity for them to get a solid education. SSS students qualify for more scholarship money than any of the other county high schools. This is one of many good schools in Johnston County. I have two children attending SSS and I do not work for the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Our school is made up of a very diverse population, which gives our student body, faculty, and staff members an opportunity to continually learn from one another. Our administration works extremely well together and truly has the best interest of our students, as well as the faculty and staff members, in mind as they carry our their daily duties. Our faculty members maintain a very high level of professionalism and work diligently to provide each student the opportunity to receive a top rated education, in preparation for each student's success as a contributing member of the global society they will enter post high school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2008

I attended this school and graduated, which seems to happen rarely here. Some of the teachers actually did their jobs other couldn't care less. Discipline was a very big issue because the students themselves had none. The school has gotten better since I graduated which is very reassuring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2008

This school is horrible. I once attended this school with the gangs and lack of strive from staff and others left me in awe . Triple SSS is an evil to the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

I am a Senior at Smithfield-Selma, and have attended all four years. I love this school. The reputation we have acquired is completely false. Safety is certainly not a concern. I have walked through those halls a thousand times and can say with confidence that I haven't ever felt threatened or as if I was in immanent danger. The clubs and services provided are designed to meet the needs of the students, and they achieve that goal yearly. I alone, am in nearly 6 clubs.. all are different. The sports selection maybe be limited but has been a priority for quite a while, and they are trying to strengthen that program. I love this school and wouldn't think twice before recommending it to ANY parent, student, or teacher. Facts are facts, this school has been meeting requirements for years and the principal is fantastic. Give it a chance, its not bad!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

Im a student at Triple S and I love it. We've got a bit of a reputation among the other local schools, but I think it just boils down to High School rivalries.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

I was skeptical at first about my daughter attending SSS, but I have been pleased with the school thus far. They have plenty of extracurrilar activities for the students, and plenty of educational courses is provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I have two children who are students at SSS. I have been very pleased with the quality of teachers and the principal. However, the curriculum is limited when compared to other schools in the western part of Johnston County. The emphasis on placing resources in more affluent areas to the west appears to be politically motivated by the County Commissioners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

My concern with this school is the teachers (or lack of). You try to stay on top of what's going on with your child and you reach out and ask for help (like the teacher e-mailing you back or returning your calls) and they don't. Oh but let the child breaths wrong and they are on the phone calling telling you they are in trouble. Seems to me they have their priorities out of line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Safety is my main concern. The teachers let the kids 'run wild'. Children that want to learn CAN NOT because of the interruptions that occur.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

This school is completely inadequate, I really do not where to begin. There is no continuity from year-to-year. Safety is a concern to all of us with kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

My daughter did her Drivers Education course at SSS. The things She experianced in those hours were scary. Classmates using a lighter on the back of the chair in front of him, Talking over the teacher, coming and going as they pleased. The environment was not conducive to learning. The boy with the lighter was back in class every day despite my daughters quietly letting the teacher know after class what he was doing... it was a scary, unsafe classroom setting with little or no discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

344 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students>95%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities>95%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-5%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

230 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

379 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

297 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

232 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

304 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-5%
Female-5%
Male-5%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-5%
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged-5%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students5%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English-5%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-5%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students25%
Female24%
Male26%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically gifted83%

English II

All Students33%
Female37%
Male31%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 26%
Hispanic 32% 14%
White 30% 52%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25
School end time
  • 2:30
School Leader's name
  • Mr Michael Taylor
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 934-3001

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 East Booker Dairy Road
Smithfield, NC 27577
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 934-5191

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





South Johnston High
Four Oaks, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT