Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


Smithfield-Selma High 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a student
Smithfiled-Selma Highschool is very encouraging when it comes to my education. They provide all of my classmates and I the very best opportunites such as Honors, AP and now the IB program courses. The IB program is a global diploma that is seen highly impressive to colleges. Although this school has much put down in the past, this school is now at its turning point to fulfill its greatest potential.

Smithfield-Selma High 5

Posted July 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends SSS and I am very pleased with her education. She takes honors classes, is active in clubs and sports. Academically she is very challenged. Her teachers are all excellent and promptly reply to my emails when I have questions. I see Mr. Taylor, the principal, at most events. He is always available for questions. Folks in the office are always courteous and helpful. Our PTO keeps us informed about what's going on. She hasn't had any problems with other students and I think that our diverse student population is helpful in learning to navigate the world after graduation. Beginning in fall '14 SSS will have an IB programme. I highly recommend this school.


Smithfield-Selma High 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
SSS has a diverse population in many respects....economic, the student's personal drive to succeed, intellectual agility, ethnic group, and whether they have support (or not) at home....all of these things set the stage for the student experience. If your child wants to take challenging classes and apply themselves, and if you support that effort, there is ample opportunity for them to get a solid education. SSS students qualify for more scholarship money than any of the other county high schools. This is one of many good schools in Johnston County. I have two children attending SSS and I do not work for the school system.

Smithfield-Selma High 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a teacher
Our school is made up of a very diverse population, which gives our student body, faculty, and staff members an opportunity to continually learn from one another. Our administration works extremely well together and truly has the best interest of our students, as well as the faculty and staff members, in mind as they carry our their daily duties. Our faculty members maintain a very high level of professionalism and work diligently to provide each student the opportunity to receive a top rated education, in preparation for each student's success as a contributing member of the global society they will enter post high school.

Smithfield-Selma High 0
no rating

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smithfield-Selma High 3

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
I attended this school and graduated, which seems to happen rarely here. Some of the teachers actually did their jobs other couldn't care less. Discipline was a very big issue because the students themselves had none. The school has gotten better since I graduated which is very reassuring.

Smithfield-Selma High 5

Posted September 15, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Smithfield-Selma High 1

Posted April 20, 2008
- a student
This school is horrible. I once attended this school with the gangs and lack of strive from staff and others left me in awe . Triple SSS is an evil to the community.


Smithfield-Selma High 0
no rating

Posted February 08, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Smithfield-Selma High 1

Posted January 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smithfield-Selma High
700 East Booker Dairy Road, Smithfield, NC  27577
(919) 934-5191
Last modified Smithfield-Selma High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smithfield-Selma High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews.