Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smithfield-Selma High
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
Yes ms deVane is s true compassion person. She helped me out so much on my senior year 2010.

Smithfield-Selma High
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
I only had one good teacher at SSS she looked out for me during my worst times at SSS while nobody else cared.


Smithfield-Selma High
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
As a former student at SSS never give any homework most of the time. Terrible learning environment.

Smithfield-Selma High
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
Never! I was ignored most of the time. If not they rude to me if i needed something or help.

Smithfield-Selma High
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
No never have! Just never let your child go this school it like the dark side to me every day


Smithfield-Selma High
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
The school never showed any compassion at all. Sad but true just poorly run school

Smithfield-Selma High 1

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
Felt like a number at this school. Never let your child go this school. They treat the special needs kids like the step children.

Smithfield-Selma High
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a community member
I had a hard time dealing with mr Jacobs that was the principle. Slack management


Smithfield-Selma High 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a student
Smithfiled-Selma Highschool is very encouraging when it comes to my education. They provide all of my classmates and I the very best opportunites such as Honors, AP and now the IB program courses. The IB program is a global diploma that is seen highly impressive to colleges. Although this school has much put down in the past, this school is now at its turning point to fulfill its greatest potential.

Smithfield-Selma High 5

Posted July 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends SSS and I am very pleased with her education. She takes honors classes, is active in clubs and sports. Academically she is very challenged. Her teachers are all excellent and promptly reply to my emails when I have questions. I see Mr. Taylor, the principal, at most events. He is always available for questions. Folks in the office are always courteous and helpful. Our PTO keeps us informed about what's going on. She hasn't had any problems with other students and I think that our diverse student population is helpful in learning to navigate the world after graduation. Beginning in fall '14 SSS will have an IB programme. I highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Smithfield-Selma High
700 Booker Dairy Rd, Smithfield, NC  27577
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (919) 934-5191
Last modified Smithfield-Selma High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top