Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Brunswick High 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I am thankful for the school leaders letting Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) Future Healthcare Professionals be at South Brunswick High School. This organization gives students an opportunity to learn leadership,teamwork, and compassion for humanity. I may be teaching the next student that will discover the cure for cancer. We are about all medical professions. I wanted to say thank you to the community in Brunswick County for their support of this organization.

South Brunswick High 3

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
In general, we have found the teachers to be knowledgeable in their subject areas and responsive to our emails about grades, homework. Academic rigor, especially in non-honor, non-AP classes, is lacking. In addition, there is room for a great deal of improvement at this school. First, communication between parents and school administration needs to vastly improve. Robocalls are fine for short notice on events but an radically improved school website would let parents and students know important events well ahead of time. For example, testing dates for the year, including ACT and SAT testing. Secondly, guidance needs to become more proactive in communicating important information about college preparation for all four years of high school. Parent coffees by grade level would help. We have been pleased with the safe environment the school provides and I hope the new principal will work to make SBSH a more academically progressive school.


South Brunswick High 2

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
This school needs more structure, less hours, cooperative staff.......bottom line, it needs to be like a Northern school.

South Brunswick High 2

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
Teachers seem to be ok. But the admin staff along with counselors is a bit lack luster. I feel moving from the north that this school is not serious enough about college bound students. Transferring high school credits is a fight. Seriously! My daughter took the classes she is now in 8th grade. What a way to move backwards. Southern schools are behind compared to the north. The lack of class options in foreign language (only Spanish) is a joke. Everything is a struggle to get things done and I am not impressed. We are looking at a private school.

South Brunswick High 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a student
This school is just amazing! I have moved around and when I first arrived as a sophomore I was scared but the teachers were just so kind and I made friends quickly. Everyone treats each other with respect and you never see bullying in the hall ways. The administration from the Principle Mr. Price to the administrators always smile and try to spark conversations with you if they get the chance to talk to you. The sports program is also great and the team spirit gets so high especially during football season. The AP program is great ( Mrs. Birdyshaw, Mrs. Hunter, and Mr. Clark are awesome :) ). When I grow up I will for sure teach at this school.


South Brunswick High
no rating

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school with awesome principal and exceptional A/P teachers and staff.

South Brunswick High
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a student
I go to this school, it is amazing and the principal couldn't get any better :)

South Brunswick High
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
South Brunswick High School is the best school in Brunswick County without a doubt. The Principal, Mr. Vann Pennell is of the highest quality I have ever seen in my lifetime. The staff and teachers care and respect their peers and students. Students are generally well mannered and graduate well prepared for their future. Their is nothing I would change about SBHS, it is a wonderful high school. I would reccomend this school to anyone!


South Brunswick High
no rating

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
I love the people here. .But some of the teachers are weird. .And they check people out. .But other than that, i love this school. .And im glad im back! <3

South Brunswick High 5

Posted February 01, 2005
- a student
Hi, My name is Ashley Frazier and I am a former student of South Brunswick,and I just want to say that I wish I was still there. The teachers are outstanding the principal the guidance office and staff members are all there for the right reasons despite all the non sense we as high schoolers bring. I just want to say that comming to South Brunswick was one of the best choices I ever made and leavimg it not by choice has been by far the worst. I want to be like the staff and some of the teachers like Srta. Hodum who is a prime example of what I want to be like and Dr. hargrove one of the sweetiest people I have ever met so to whomever reads this and to whom ever this concerns I just want you to know that I would highly request anyone to go there.

Nearby schools

South Brunswick High
280 Cougar Dr Bsl, Southport, NC  28461
(910) 845-2203
Last modified South Brunswick High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top