Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Statesville Montessori School

Private | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Statesville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $717.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2013

Response to comment posted June 2013- it is shameful that people can hide behind anonymity and try to harm others, that is what is sad. Despite our differing views of child development and what best serves children at different times in their lives, this child was cared for mightily. NEVER was she left alone at the door to picked up by her caregivers- it is impossible at our school, period. And whenever there is a differing of opinions, our director is always called in to help give clarity. That is her job. I am sorry this family feels this way. That being said, we have a fantastic school! Both of my children progressed thru the entire program and are successfully continuing on their paths of higher learning. As a staff member, I am proud of how we go above and beyond the call of duty to help children become happy learners for life. I love my job and am truly vested in helping children reach their potential!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 21, 2013

I initially heard great things about this school but after our experience, we will never refer it to others. They did not seem to care about what was going on with my child and just wanted us to pick her up as soon as possible. They would even leave her at the front door by herself with her book bag on her back waiting on me. And she was only four. They called us in for a conference and admitted that they were afraid of my husband coming so they had to bring in backup. Completely inappropriate and we have never raised our voices to them. Very sad. I thought it would have been a good fit for my child but they don't want any kids that are just a little bit out of their comfort zone. Sad...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

This former student writes extremely well and seems to understand finances. It seems Statesville Montessori served him/her very well! My three children love the school and I am very pleased with all aspects of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I am a former student of SMS and must say the quality of the academia is on par with other local public schools, but nothing more. The classrooms are small, well managed, and fairly disciplined. SMS doesn't offer anything more than you could receive at one of the local Magnet schools. My advice to parents, spare yourself the hefty price of tuition for grade school, and put that money in a 529 plan for your child's college expenses.


Posted September 29, 2009

My son Has been there for 3 years and loves it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 53%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 4% N/A
Black 1% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 11%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1012 Harmony Dr
Statesville, NC 28677
Phone: (704) 873-1092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pressly School
Statesville, NC


Success Charter School
Statesville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT