Advertisement

Southview Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Statesville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $717.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2012

My children have attended Southview Chrisitan School since the late 90's. One has graduated and the others are still enrolled. I could not ask for a better enviroment, or caring teachers and staff. Southview has and will continue to prepare my children for college. If you are looking for academic excellence with a spiritual emphasis for your children's education, this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

This is an awesome school. My child attends here and we are amazed at what she has learned and the christian atmosphere of the school. The teachers are top notch as well! I would highly recommend this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I give this school a DOUBLE THUMBS UP!! All 3 of my children attended SCS and received not only an excellent spiritual education but an excellent academic education as well. 2 of my children graduated from SCS and went on to the college of their choice without any adverse difficulties. Both have excelled in college maintaining high academic GPA's. When Godly principals and high moral standards are taught the academics will be there. I thank God everyday for SCS, the faculty, staff and administration!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Our children went to Southview. We found the high school ill-equipped in math, science and technology. The highest level of math taught at the time was advanced math. The high school SAT scores were the lowest in the county compared to public high schools. Computer classes were nonexistent. There were no honors classes or AP classes. Only 2 years of Spanish were taught. I have found that students were not ready for college level studies after graduating from Southview. Basic high school courses were offered, but nothing to help the students be more competitive with the rigorous high school courses offered in public high schools. Parents whose kids had 4.0 averages suddenly found their children struggling with college math. It is a school that is at least 20 years behind in its teaching and has not stayed up on the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

All my children attend Southview. It is a Christ-centered, loving, and committed to 'Christian' education school. My children have thrived spiritually and educationally. I could not be more pleased with how the teachers, staff, and administration have been an extension of our home. The rules, boundaries and high expectations of the school only reflect what I as a parent enforce everyday in my Christian home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

We have two children who attend Southview. Our oldest son attended public school in kindegarten and never adapted well. This year we put him at Southview and he is loving it. The staff is very caring and concerned about the children. Praise the Lord he opened the door for our children to attend such a great school! I would recomend it to anyone looking for christian school that stands firm on the King James Bible and is not compromising their beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

For younger kids, I can see this high school as being up to par. However, I attended high school at Southview and was dissapointed in the intense guidelines as far as dress code goes. Unless your child has attended this school from an early age and is used to the extreme disiplinary actions taken for minor offenses, I suggest putting your high schooler in a different private school. It was hard for me to be comfortable and learn in such a strict environment. I am a firm believer in rules, but this school goes a little too far in most aspects.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2006

After 2 disasterous years in public school, followed by 3 years of homeschool, we found Southview! My child has thrived in the small classes. The staff treat the students and parents with dignity and respect. Southview has been a complete blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

This school is excellent if you want your child to have a small classroom environment as well as a Christ-centered curriculum. However, the size of this school keeps it from having all the extracurriculars that a public school offers. I would not change my decision to send my child here through the 8th grade then transfer to a public high school. This change offered many more college oppurtunities and helped me to acutally grow in my faith by forcing me to be open about my faith in a 'mixed-religeon' environment. I would highly recommend this school. 2 THUMBS UP!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2004

This school is good school for those who are seeking a excellent education coupled with a Christ centered atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 53%
Black 5% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Walter Wagner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 Wallace Springs Rd
Statesville, NC 28677
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 872-9554

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Barium Springs School
Barium Springs, NC



Success Charter School
Statesville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT