Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Fairview school is one of the best schools in Jackson Co. I went to it when is was first built and I had some special needs and they was really good about helping me get the help I needed, My daughter also went to another school in Jackson Co. and they treated with disrespect because she would get done with her work before the other children, and instead of giving her something else to do they held her back and made her sit in a corner. Until the other children was ready go move on. So we moved her to Fairview and she was in the 3 rd grade and when she finished her work they would give her the next assignment or she had to help out other students that needed that special help. My daughter has always been a straight A student, I have several nieces and nephews that attend Fairview and they get that special help. One of nieces lives in a different Co. and her parents would bring her to Fairview because that is where her older sibling graduated from. The teachers and staff really care for their students and takes interest in them by helping them learn.

Fairview Elementary 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Awesome teachers. Mt son has a peanut allergy and I was very worried about him going to school eating there. His teachers have been fantastic!


Fairview Elementary 2

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
The staff at Fairview Elementary really seem to care about the students. I see way too much yelling and shaming of the children though. I believe the school could benefit from sending all teachers and aids to "parenting" workshops to learn how to discipline and create order, while treating the children with respect. They also use awful fundraising programs and techniques that ostracize the poorer students.

Fairview Elementary 1

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
My kids school is Fairview. I have no rating for the school. The principal ,social workers are disrespectful. My wife has been confronted to try to get a altercation started, being followed, taunted. State policy and procedures are not followed. Wanted to see my childs work/grades asked by written notice and hand delivered to principal. Never got to view his grades in any way shape form or fashion. Do the real research what schools in Sylva accells. The are bothched grades from 74 of the brightest pupils in the school. Wrong fundraising methods. Hat day you pay a dollar you can wear a hat, what about the poor kids???? Sweet treats, pay a dollar get candy bar. What about the poor kids???? I KNOW FOR A FACT ITS DISCRIMINATION!!!!!!!! People say why ruin it for everybody? BECAUSE ITS WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!! Coaches sit and chew gum, it's prohibited and a rule for the students. OK for teachers to break the rules though. Social worker DT told us kids don't need responsibility their kids????????? Just not a great school. Parents are the stake holders at this school we own the children. Love to see all the end of grade tests also. Why havent we seen the real scores???

Fairview Elementary 5

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
a wonderful school. The principal really cares about the school and students as if they were her own children. the teacher are really nice and good at their job.


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted February 20, 2011
- a parent
This school is the best in Jackson County. My son loves the staff and the sincere feeling of community amongst the students. Teachers in this school honestly want to see every child do well. Marty Brown

Fairview Elementary 5

Posted December 18, 2010
- a parent
hey my little girl is in 1 st grade and all last week the school was closed but my little girl has been doing great in this school she loves going to school there her teacher ms kelly is a good teacher and laya loves going to school everyday so i have question is there school monday

Fairview Elementary
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I've got two kids @ Fairview, and we like the teachers and staff there. Some great, dedicated people working at the school!


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
my son has gone to fairview since pre k. and now is going to be in the fourth grade next year. I can honestly say that I have had nothing but positive experiences with the school, teachers and principal as a whole. my sons teachers has been outstanding and he has done well. his teacher this year , third grade teacher has exceeded so much with him. my son is very shy, bashful, well behaved, nervous child. the school has worked well with him trying to bring him out of his shell. I think that fairview school is a great school and would not hesitiate to send any child there because i know that they are taken care of. thanks teachers and mr profit for all you do and will continue to do with our children

Fairview Elementary 5

Posted January 06, 2006
- a student
I am currently in 7th grade at Fairview and have been here sence kindagarten. I have loved it every step of the way. There is great teacher/ student realationship. Fairview has great sports programs and a lot of extracurricular activities. The principal is great. This school is outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairview Elementary
251 Big Orange Way, Sylva, NC  28779
(828) 586-2819
Last modified Fairview Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairview Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top