Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


Smoky Mountain High 4

Posted May 11, 2014
- a student
Wouldn't have wanted to spend the last 4 years anywhere else. Smoky Mountain is a great school, filled with more school spirit than any school I have ever seen. We are well known for having the best basketball "student-section" in Western North Carolina, if not the whole state. Academically, I wouldn't say it is top-notch, but it is what you make it. If you work diligently and take initiative to make a way for yourself, you will be well prepared. But there is a lot of leeway to slack for those who don't choose to do so. My 1 complaint is that the guidance office is more or less useless in the college-prep department. I felt like I was all by myself throughout my process, swamped with applications and ill-informed about scholarship opportunities. But overall, I have had an amazing experience here at SMHS! The sense of community is impeccable and the environment is safe and welcoming. Great stepping stone!

Smoky Mountain High 5

Posted January 14, 2012
- a community member
Excellent teachers. Great school. I really enjoyed being at SMHS. It was a great experience and I won't forget it.


Smoky Mountain High 4

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
I had two daughters graduate from Smoky Mountain, and I was extremely pleased with their educations. They were both involved with extracurricular activities, which I believe is a key to a high school student feeling school spirit and a sense of belonging to the school community. As in all schools everywhere, some teachers were more involved with the students than others, but both daughters were given opportunities to meet with teachers for extra help if needed, and in some cases, extra credit. Both girls felt safe at school and respected by the staff. I feel very grateful for the high expectations and caring attitude my daughters experienced at Smoky Mountain High.

Smoky Mountain High 2

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Im a junior this year and i've been here since i was a freshman. I dont really like smoky mountain too much. I think that the staff here expects too much out of the students. I think that they think we are all suppossed to be perfect. There is a few things i would change about the school.

Smoky Mountain High 5

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smoky Mountain High 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a student
This school is AWESOME! I was the new kid my freshman year and everyone was so welcoming! Alot of the teachers are really good and dedicated.

Smoky Mountain High 4

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
I think Smoky Mountain has the potential to be an outstanding high school given some much needed parental and community support.

Smoky Mountain High 0
no rating

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smoky Mountain High 1

Posted January 10, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Smoky Mountain High 1

Posted January 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

100 Great Smoky Mountain Expressway
Sylva, NC 28779

School website
(828) 586-2177
(828) 586-2374

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smoky Mountain High
100 Great Smoky Mountain Expressway, Sylva, NC  28779
(828) 586-2177
Last modified Smoky Mountain High is a public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smoky Mountain High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 43 reviews.