Advertisement

New Hope Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 125 students

Academics, Online program, championship basketball teams

 

Living in Thomasville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2013

Since I have had my children at New Hope, they have occasionally asked parents to share their comments on Great Schools.com. In May, after EOG testing, we were asked to share what we were saying about the school. Test results were excellent and we were so pleased. Also, if you look on the reviews page, sometimes Great Schools offers money to schools if they have a certain amount of postings in a month. This is why you see multiple postings during the same time frame. We have never been asked to only post favorable comments and have certainly never been promised tuition discounts for doing so. My children have been at New Hope for 6 yrs. and I have never regretted the decision. The thing I find most refreshing is the way EOG testing is conducted. The school calls in an independent testing agency from Raleigh to come and INDIVIDUALLY test each child. The staff is not involved and is not even in the room as children are being tested. To me this speaks to the integrity of both the test results and the staff. You know that no matter how they turn out, you can trust the results. Parents are then called in for conferences to discuss results. It's great to compare each year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Wow. Notice how there are similar 5 star ratings on the same day SEVERAL times...as if "someone" decides to post these things on May 16 and especially on February 9. What in the world happened on February 9th?!? DId the headmaster give $500 off tuition to everyone who posted a favorable review and THAT'S the reason for the pre-Valentine lovefest? Every story is "my kid was doing bad now they are doing great". If you insist on doing false rating, mix it up a little. "My kid has always been a great student, now they are doing just as well" or "This place is great but I only gave 4 stars for teacher quality because of this one teacher".


Posted May 16, 2013

Moving my son from public school to New Hope is one of the best decisions I have ever made. New Hope is passionate about the academic and personal growth of each student. Patsy and Mike foster a school environment that is not only professional but loving. My son's experience at New Hope has given him the best preparation for college and life beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Our experience with New Hope Christian has been very good. Our son attended New Hope for his Junior year and will be enrolled for his Senior year. We homeschooled our son for grades 1 thru 10; the transition into this school environment was very positive. The teachers at New Hope are dedicated to the success of the students and are very willing to work with the students and their parents to ensure that the students achieve their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

New Hope Christian Academy is the best thing I've ever done for my granddaughter. She has been there for 3 years now. She was labeled "at risk" in public school second grade. Homework was a battle. Her self confidence was very low and she had a big " I can't do it well, so why try" attitude. We began 3rd grade at New Hope and by the end of the year she tested above grade level in most every area, her confidence soared and she now loves going to school. This year at the end of 5th grade she tested above grade level with several areas 3 or more grade levels above. She has learned excellent study skills and has a real love for learning. The teachers are always looking for new ways to make the learning fun and interesting. New Hope offers so much more than academic excellence. With the smaller classroom size the children have become more like family, celebrating each others accomplishments, praying for each other and encouraging each other through difficult times. It is evident the teachers love their students and want them to succeed and to do their best. The students know this and work hard to please them. Monday - Thursday school with little homework just adds the icing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

My child has grown so much in just one school year! New Hope Christian Academy has developed her love for school and learning. The Teacher's are amazing, very kind and patient, any child can succeed in this supportive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

My son has been going to New Hope for 3 years now and I wouldn't have it any other way. He has come such a long way from when he began. The teachers are loving, caring, and truly amazing people. If it were not for them my son would be attending public school and that is just a nightmare. He gets the attention he needs and is being taught the things that public school neglects. For example: sounding out words to learn how to read and not memorizing site words. Because of this my son reads well above grade level and his math scores are off the charts. The teachers at New Hope play one of the most essential roles - helping children achieve their goals. And to the teachers at New Hope, Thank you for enriching the many lives you touch. Your commitment to our school means so much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I am impressed with the caring and nurturing relationship that the teacher has with my grandchildren, and their classmates. I have also noticed, and love the fact, that the children truly care about each other. They seem to want everyone to succeed, and they encourage each other. The students work hard, but are rewarded by their sense of accomplishment. The classes are small, so they get more attention than they would in public school. Besides the academics, this school helps in character building, love of God and love of country.


Posted February 9, 2011

My granddaughter has attended New Hope for several years now and we couldn't be happier. When she was taken out of public school, she was terribly behind in reading and math. The teachers at New Hope have worked diligently with her and her last EOG scores showed that she is now above grade level in everything. The teachers not only taught her, but also worked on her self-esteem that had been torn down in public school. I would highly recommend New Hope to anyone who is looking for a great alternative for their child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I truly feel like this school was a 'God send' for my family. My children have attended for almost two years and have learned so much! They continue to test above grade level and are learning valuable skills so that they can be proactive with their education. The most important thing that they are taught is the importance of treating others the way they would want to be treated. They love it there and tell me that there's nowhere else they would rather be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

In response to the parent of the girl who left New Hope, as a parent there, I was not sorry to see her go. This girl had one thing and one thing only on her mind - to see how many young boys she could attract. Her clothing was inappropriate for a Christian school as was her behavior. My child told me how this girl came there, would not participate in class, even when asked by the teacher, and did nothing but flirt with boys all day. She even caused drama between some of the boys - something that is very rare there. Our experience has been very positive and we are very satisfied with the progress our child has made over time (more than 11 weeks).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My son attended high school at New Hope. He graduated and went on to community college. He is now about to graduate with an associate's degree as a pharmacy technician. His teacher says he is at the top of the class and she will help him find the job that he wants. She has also encouraged him to go into pharmaceutical nursing. We credit much of his success to his experience at New Hope. They loved and cared for him and taught him how to succeed in college. He has said many times how well they prepared him for certain aspects of college, mostly in time management and study skills. They also teach godly character traits and try to live out their faith silently. We would recommend New Hope to anyone who has a child who needs a different environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

As a grandparent of children attending New Hope Christian Academy I am extremely pleased with their progress and knowledge. After observing and reviewing their homework it is obvious that they are receiving a well rounded and thorough education. They have attended for two years and have tested well above their grade level. The teachers are compassionate, caring and dedicated. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone who has the best interest of his or her child at heart.


Posted February 9, 2011

I couldn't be happier with this school. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and have created an environment where the students are well equipped and guided in a way that encourages faith, a positive attitude and a strong work ethic. My children have consistently progressed in all their subjects, with test scores above grade level. Their increased confidence and enthusiasm for their education assures me that New Hope is the right school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

I TOOK MY DAUGHTER TO THIS SCHOOL AND WASNT PLEASED AT ALL. I WAS EXPECTING MY DAUGHTER TO HAVE A LITTLE ONE ON ONE TIME SINCE ITS A PRIVATE SCHOOL, AND THEY ONLY HAVE 20 KIDS IN THE WHOLE SCHOOL. THEY DONT SERVE LUNCH FOR YOUR CHILDREN, THE CHILDREN CAN GET UP WHEN EVER THEY PLEASE AND DO WHAT EVER. THEY DONT HAVE TEACHERS THERE, THEY GIVE THEM ASSIGNMENTS AND PUT THEM ONLINE. AT LEAST IN A PUBLIC SCHOOL YOU ARE TAUGHT BY A TEACHER. THE OWNER WHEN I MET HER TOLD ME THIS SCHOOL ISNT JUST FOR EVERYONE, ESPECIALLY WHEN SHE FOUND OUT SHE HAD TROUBLE WITH HER READING A FEW YEARS BACK. ""IN OTHER WORDS SHE WASNT TAKING THE TIME TO TEACH HER. JUST PUT HER ON COMPUTER.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

LAST BUT NOT LEAST SHE WAS ONLY THERE 11 WEEKS OF SCHOOL AND MY DAUGHTER DIDNT LEARN ANYTHING. WHEN I ADVISED THE OWNER WHEN HER LAST DAY WOULD BE SHE IGNORED HER, DIDNT EVEN SAY ""I WISH YOU WELL"" ""I LL MISS YOU"" OR ANYTHING. MY DAUGHTER COULDNT EVEN STAY THE WHOLE DAY SHE CALLED ME CRYING TO COME GET HER. ' I THOUGHT THIS WAS A CHRISTIAN SCHOOL"....VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED.*****************************************
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

We are in our second year at New Hope Christian Academy and could not be more pleased. We currently have two children in grades 5 and 8 at the school. When my son started the school last year, he was at a complete low in his confidence as a student. The smaller class size and individualized instruction helped him to flourish almost immediately. He loves being able to concretely see his own personal progress and very much enjoys the disciplined, nurturing environment at the school. His grades are great, and he is challenged at his level. We were so impressed that for this school year we also enrolled our 5th grade daughter. She too loves the smaller environment and finds her peers to be much friendlier and nicer than at her previous school - which is really important to a 5th grader. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

This is a great school that I highly recommend. Both of our children attend and are thriving at this school. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

My child attended New Hope for 7 years. She graduated and is an 'A' student in college. She was able to accomplish this without the medication the public school felt that she needed. What she needed was a different environment, one that was loving, understanding and open to new ways of dealing with ADD students. We will always be grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

After a very bad experience with the Davidson County School system, my son began attending New Hope. The atmosphere is positive, not negative. What a refreshing change!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Black 5% 32%
Two or more races 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 25% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UNC system schools
DCCC, RCC, GTCC
Providence, SC Upstate
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Regional Accreditation MSA-CESS (2012)
  • Accreditation - NIPSA (2012)
  • Accreditation - NCPSA (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Patsy Robertson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (336) 475-5655

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • videography, photography

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • vans for sports and field trip
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • National Beta Club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • New Hope now has 2 campuses: Lower School at 105 Pineywood St. and High School at 500 Biggs Ave. Thomasville
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
125
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
social services

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Davidson County Community College
UNC-Greensboro
Randolph Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 60%
4 year college - 25%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 5%
Workforce - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Pineywood St
Thomasville, NC 27360
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 475-5654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brittain Academy
Thomasville, NC


Brittain Academy
Thomasville, NC


Pilot Elementary
Thomasville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT