Advertisement

Brittain Academy

Private | PK-12 | 235 students

Our school is best known for our Home-Schooling & High School Diploma Program's

 
 

Living in Thomasville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Its a great school got my diploma from brittain in August, they clearly tell you that gtcc doesnt take the diploma from them but ftcc does I start in the spring and the ladies are WONDER FUL


Posted January 16, 2013

I would like to know where you all so called graduaed from college with this fake diploma. I can't get ino any college with it. Not even GTCC which is the communiy college or any online school. It's a scam, they just want your money.


Posted August 28, 2012

Hi, it's me again. Proving that just posting the same stuff with a 1 star rating is possible. They should be ashamed to call themselves an academy, school, or anything else that pretends to stress academic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

This school is a fantastic way to get ahead in life with a very supportive staff they all really want you to succeed this was one of my best academic decisions


Posted May 31, 2012

this school is a very smart decision for any parent to send their child. the people who work there are very supportive and help you throughout the whole educational experience. if i had to do it all over again i would still most definitely send my child there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

The adult high school diploma program works. I got my diploma and went to college. I have a degree now and for that I am grateful. 5 stars!


Posted May 19, 2012

I live this school. I graduated and went on to get my BD last year. Thanks to Brittain Academy, I have a good job & college education. Thanks.


Posted May 19, 2012

This is the best school for people with jobs they need better pay in. My diploma got me a better job and more pay at the same place


Posted May 19, 2012

This school is awesome! The new teachers are cool and the program trips are the best!


Posted May 19, 2012

I'm glad I found the time for the test program and schooling. I've got a better jab statues & a college education from Greensboro. My degree looks good in my office! Thanks Brittain!


Posted May 19, 2012

I was asked to review this school after going through the programs and I must say, its good. it took a few calls from the academy's office, but I got into college and I know it was worth everything. Some of the people are verry understanding of all it takes for getting back into school and I'm glad I did.


Posted May 19, 2012

Not a bad place to go too in you need people too care about what you need too get done. The schooling was way new to me and the texting was much better then any place ever. I'm stoaked I got through and could move on. Always room for improvment tho JUSTEN...


Posted February 27, 2012

This school is the most fun place to graduate from. I have been to many schools and this one I learned at my pace and passed while having a good time.


Posted February 19, 2012

Brittain Academy is an amazing experience, to put it simply. I was a student there from a young child, and those years are among the best of my entire life, The students are all very well mannered and friendly, and the staff are tremendously nice, it's an overall great place to do your learning and growing up.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2011

I have a young sibling and we tried this "school" bc of the convience to our home. She was an upcoming sophomore in high school with great academic grade.Starting Brittain Academy she was provided w her 1st 2 weeks of work bc she was going to be at home doing work This work was not grade appropriate. This work was not even graded, they just give them whatever just so that they can feel a folder with worksheets so a child can get a piece of paper that says I went to school ,no acceptable college or employer will accept these diplomas: per knowledge of prior graduates from this school that now must attend a local community college to redo school all over again in order to go to work let alone futher education or a career. With this she was pulled from this school with only about a week of attending and was placed in another very wonderful private school 10 miles away to where she graduated with honors. As a guardian and caregiver I would not recommend this school. Please look for other private schools in the area before deciding to send our future to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

I would NEVER send my child to this school (If that is what you want to call it). I have seen the product of this school. MANY STATE and FEDERALY functioned places, will NOT take their diplomas. Up to and including the Military, so what does that say?????. I am truly sorry for these students, that were not cut out for public school..I have been there and done that, but there are always more options such as Com. Collages they do give diplomas, not just GED's. Just remember before choosing any school, talk to the LORD and let him lead your way. God Bless You and Your Children!!


Posted October 21, 2008

I have done Graduated from this School and I loved it! I would Recom. this School for all Kids.


Posted March 10, 2008

I went there and graduated. The teachers are understanding and I really enjoyed it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

There is no authority over the children, they are able to run wild and do whatever they want. The owner nevrer has her stuff together and hardly ever grades the work instead just writes the grades on the report cards. There are not enough staff members to teach the kids properly. Most of the teachers are not certified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

I have a 15yr old who attends the school and she loves it!!!!We are very happy with the staff, the atmosphere and the circulum.I would recommend this school very highly to anyone who is looking for a change and a good education. You will not find all of the drama like regular schools-what you will find is a loving, quiet, friendly environment where your child can learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 53%
Hispanic 9% 11%
Black 8% 32%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Linde Brittain
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Online contact form on our contact page
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Open
Associations
  • ACE
Fax number
  • (336) 475-2735

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Adult education
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Home-Schooling
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Therapeutic
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Surfing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Surfing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$1000 - $10000

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 East Main St.
Thomasville, NC 27360
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 475-2728

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brittain Academy
Thomasville, NC





Thomasville High School
Thomasville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT