Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Troutman Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 724 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

This school has gone downhill the past few years. It is not because of the teachers though. The teachers at this school are absolutely amazing! They work hard and produce results. Not the same can be said about the leadership team though. They make the school an unhappy place for their teachers, in turn, many of the teachers have lost their passion for teaching (which is so sad) or even left the school mid year! That is sad too and it breaks my heart! Morale is low because of that reason, but the teachers still persevere. If the leadership was like the teachers, that place would be AMAZING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

The more time I spend at Troutman Elementary School, the more impressed I am with the Admistration, Staff, and kids! I have spent time in several different schools accosts the country and I have to say that this group ranks at the top! The staff, from the Principal to cafeteria , and all the teachers in between give their all for the kids and families. It is so wonderful to see teachers who care so much about what they do! You never hear complaints from this group. They are willing to do whatever is needed to ensure each child is a success,


Posted August 28, 2013

The teachers are great, I feel my children are in a safe environment, my kids wake up excited about school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Troutman Elementary has a hard working teachers and staff. The school is very diverse and it has pulled through and always shown growth. I would not send my kids to any other school because I believe in this one. It would be great if more parents would get involved with helping out in the school or with the PTO there is always things to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Troutman elementary offers a safe secure positive learning environment with an amazing staff! The students are so amazing and love to learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2013

My school is an awesome school because it is able to serve so many students in a small community! The teachers are very dedicated to seeing all students be successful. Last year our school scored the highest growth in our district and continues to find ways to improve our learning environment so that every student can learn. Our school could be improved with more parent involvement and community volunteers in order to reach more students on a more personal level and to give some students another positive role model in their life. Overall I think this is the best school and very deserving of this award because of the hard work, dedication and positive attitudes of the faculty, staff and community. It would certainly be used to better the learning environment for the students since that is our school focus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2012

Entering our 6th year at TES, We can not say enough good things about our school, we've had some changes, changes are good especially for the kids. Our Principal and Assistant Principal are wonderful role models, they are parents as well and they understand both sides of the Parent Teacher communication. TES had the highest growth out of all the 17 elementary schools in the district with 6.7 points growth! Thank you to all our teachers that stay after school, always have time to answer questions, are there for OUR KIDS..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

My oldest child is about to graduate the 5th grade at TES and my other 2 sons are in 2nd and Kindergarten. I love the dedicated teachers at TES they go above and beyond to make sure the children get a great education. The teachers make learning fun and do a very good job at presenting the infomation in ways that will reach the many diffrent learning styles in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

My daughter is just finishing her K year. It has been absolutely wonderful. We could not have asked for a better experience. She is above grade level and the teacher made sure she stayed challenged with customized activities and learning for her 'group'. The principal does care about making the school a better place. She is not only admin for TES but she is a parent of children who attend there. As a local realtor I have moved many families in this area - I have not yet moved one into the school district who has regretted it. On paper the test scores may not be perfect but TES is a school consisting of all socioeconomic levels. Parent involvement is a mixed bag also. You will see parenting levels from full time to absent, including foster and homeless kids. It only takes a few kids with absent parents to bring down average scores. So TES is way more than what you can read on paper. As a parent I am very pleased with the school. As a realtor I am proud to have satisfied clients in the district. And as an MBA grad I understand that change takes time, red tape causes delay and no decision is going to please everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

I am so thankful for the teachers at Troutman Elementary. They are the most dedicated, hard wroking, loving, caring, and kind teachers in the area. Both of my children enjoy attending school there. Troutman Elementary offers real-world diversity in a safe and nurturing environment. My children love the science lab!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

The school has gone down hill in the last two years, driven by poor leadership and Board of Education's refusal to help improve the school as a whole. The focus of the school under the current principal has shifted from caring about the children to caring about EOG scores exclusively. That said, the advanced students are given "busy work" while the teacher focuses on trying to get the bottom half of the class up to a passing level. Basically, making a room of average kids. If you would like your child to be challenged and offered an opportunity to go beyond the base course of study, this is not the school for you. We have given this school 4 years waiting on the promise of "good things to come" and will wait no more. We will be sending our child elsewhere next year. I would highly advise that you consider doing the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

We are getting ready for our 4th year at this great school! while most schools in the area focus on EOG's test scores etc we do not take to much stock into these scores and focus on the wonderful, caring quality teachers TES has! TES has a very diverse economic and social student body, we have a great ESL staff to help those kids who struggle with English as their 1st language. When my kids come home at the end of the day happy is a sign of a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

My children have been attending TES for several years, and we are very pleased with the school. The teachers and staff are amazing, and they accomplish SO much with the students, even though they have constant testing to complete. My children have had excellent teachers that have broadened their knowledge and skills incredibly. There are some students that do not speak English as a first language and I do not think they are able to get the support they need at home to meet their grade level needs. I think this has a negative impact on the overall testing scores. It does amaze me that the teachers are able to work together to execute enrichment learning tailored to the individual student's level. I regularly volunteer in the classrooms, too. I think the state test scores unfairly represent one of the finest schools in our county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

This will be my sons 4th year at Troutman and I have to say, I hope it will be as pleasant as the past 3 years have been. The AIG program is great and challenging. The teachers are great too and so is the staff. It is a shame that the test scores are bringing the score/ratings down! I do not believe in teaching to a test and hopefully this program for ALL schools will be going away soon because it is NOT working. Put me in front of the same test and I bet I would fail too! I do not test well either and consider myself to be an educated human being. This is a great school and I do support it. The teachers are hard working and I enjoy visiting the school and giving my time to the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Troutman Elementary is a well-rounded school with dedicated and experienced teachers and an on-the-ball new principal who really cares about the kids. My two children are A honor role students and their teachers have always been supportive and challenging. We feel very at home here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My two children attended this schools in the 2006-2007 school year. They attended a nearby school prior to Troutman and I was disappointed in many ways with our overall experience. There seems to be more tolerance of bad behavior in this school, and the bar is not set very high for the students. We relocated in order to attend Lakeshore Elementary, a nearby school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

Troutman Elementary School is one of the most caring schools I have ever taught at since starting my teaching career. The students are always put first in my opinion. Differentiation is a big part of our school plans. We have a very varied student population. I would invite anyone to come a visit and feel the warm, caring atmosphere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2007

My son casey love it at Troutman and I love the K teacher he has.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students30%
Female27%
Male33%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female33%
Male31%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female52%
Male45%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female40%
Male39%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female53%
Male50%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female51%
Male31%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students48%
Female49%
Male48%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Hispanic 16% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Kimberly Cressman
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 528-0988

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 South Main Street
Troutman, NC 28166
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 528-4526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Academy
Troutman, NC






Success Charter School
Statesville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT