Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vanceboro-Farm Life Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 615 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2013

I have 3 children in this school. One of them is a special needs child. I have really like all of the teachers that my children have had. Ms. Singleton is an absolute wonderful asset to the school. All of their teachers have cared and shared concerns they have. If we see one of their teachers out around town, they speak to the children and to me about what is going on. That means a lot to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

My son is in the 5th grade at VFL. elementary. We came to this school 3-4 years ago. He has gone from a vibrant, happy, confident little boy and is now depressed, and lacks the self confidence he once had, He has begun to doubt his own abilities since attending this school. His best year was 3rd grade with Ms. Singleton. The teacher he had for 2nd grade and now has for 5th grade, fails to return emails and messages unless you talk to the principle.. The 1st grade teacher he had "Ms.A" never returned any message or notes I sent to her. I thank GOD that we are not able and blessed to be moving to a much better school. If I had a choice i would not have allowed to attend this school. I will be continuing as I have been doing all along that he is smart and can do anything he sets his mind to. I do not believe that most of the teachers here at this school have the best interest of Each child at heart. Here i believe that there are children left behind.. but still passed to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

VFL is a great school with dedicated Administrators and Teachers. They deserve a pat on the back and don't here thank you as much as they should. I thank you for what you have done for my children and my neices. Good Job to Mrs. Thomas and Mrs. Kraft for helping my so adjust and get along with other when no one else could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

I had two students who went through this school. It is very obvious that everyone at this school cares about the children. The test results reflect the care, because this school does as well as some of the more "advantaged" schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

I think VFLE is an excellent school with a wonderful faculty. They always strive to meet the needs of all the children and their test score indicate their effort!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

In my opinion VFLES is a great school. I currently have two children who attend the school and overall have been completely satisfied. The Art, PE, and Music teachers are simply angels that the children love and give the students a passion for what they teach. The school nurse is caring and professional, as well as the lunch room staff. The library is a tranquil place of learning but fun! The teachers want the best for each student to succeed with a genuine compassion. The PTO is very involved to raise money for projects that further benefit the children in work and play. Vanceboro Farm Life School is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

As a parent of a fifth and third grader who have spent all of their school years at Farm Life, I am very happy with the education my children have received. The teachers seem to enjoy their jobs and interact with the kids to a degree not found in most schools. The coach, art & music teachers, volunteers, a friendly staff, and an awesome PTO contribute to the success of this great little school. Fortunately, my kids don't have special needs, but the availibility of those services is a blessing to many in our community. Classrooms are neat, attractive and organized nicely, creating a good daily environment. Our family has always supported the school and been perfectly satisfied. I think the scores and statistics reflect the commitment of the staff. Candy C. Rozo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

I am a previous student of Farm Life. Even though I only spent my 5th Grade Year here I belive the parent-student-teacher Relationship was excelent, the guidance at the school is the most exceptional I have ever seen. The ExtraCurricular there was some of the best ever. I felt that the teachers were great and that they used their time to the fullest. I really enjoied the school and felt that it is one of the best elementary schools in the eastern Carolina area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

VFLES is one of the worst schools I have ever had to deal with. The Administration is terrible and they do not care about the children. I have had the experience of a good teacher there that really cared about the children and have had the experience of a really bad teacher that was gone most of the time and the teaching quality was low. I have had the experience of them refusing to allow my child to have anything to drink all day (even during lunch) when brought to the attention of the Principle needless to say nothing was done other than my child moved to a different classroom which was worse. I believe all school have good teachers and bad teachers but when you do not have an administration that cares, your childs protection and education is put at stake. Needless to say I homeschool now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

I am very pleased with the overall education my children receive at VFLES. The teachers continuously go above and beyond the call of duty to promote the education of well-rounded children. Many of the teachers are involved in community functions and organizations. The only aspect of VFLES that I have a complaint about is the administration. The principal, in my experience, is often not approachable nor does she actually seem to care to be bothered with any parent concerns. She handles most of these by referring them to her V.Principal. This would be acceptable if the V.P. was able to handle all of the issues thrown her way. I am not a fan of the administration at all and would love to see a change made.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female29%
Male38%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female29%
Male31%
Black11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female23%
Male35%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically gifted90%

Reading

All Students35%
Female33%
Male38%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students33%
Female25%
Male40%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female27%
Male38%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students33%
Female25%
Male40%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Black 31% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jonathan Tribula
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 244-3219

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Farm Life Avenue
Vanceboro, NC 28586
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 244-3215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Unity Christian Academy
Chocowinity, NC



Chocowinity Primary
Chocowinity, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT