Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Craven High 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
This school has gone seriously downhill since the change in leadership in 2008. Previous principals at this school consistently enforced discipline and involved the community. The new one appears to play "favorites" in student discipline, is uninterested in any input on school matters from parents, and has managed to run off over half the teachers in the school in just three years. Last year my youngest child had 3 first year teachers in one semester and one experienced teacher, until the experienced teacher quit 3 weeks into the semester. Seriously, how is a principal this bad staying employed. My daughter will be attending a different school next year....

West Craven High 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a teacher
West Craven High is the BEST of the three secondary schools in Craven County. GO EAGLES !!!!!


West Craven High 1

Posted December 19, 2010
- a student
I woulden't even send my dog to this school teachers do not care for teh well being of their students not all but some some of them were verry friendly and i learned quite a bit from some. However the no tolerence for bullying is not enforced i was bullied to the point of not going back to the school after being threatend. Even after reporting the bullying nothing what so ever was done about it. I also know for a fact i was not the only one bullied i saw it going on every day, If the school enforced their so called Misson statment which somewhere says they want to make a safe envornment for those who want to learn maybe it wouldent be so bad but until then this school is horrible.

West Craven High 4

Posted October 17, 2008
- a community member
I think this school does everything possible to prepare it's youth for the future that lies ahead of them

West Craven High 3

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
I think that the leadership is not sufficient. Ask the children they attend the school, not the parents.


West Craven High 5

Posted April 21, 2008
- a community member
The principal is awesome and has a heart for the teachers and most importantly, the students; he values parents and reaches out to the various publics in an effort to improve the performance of his students; continue to make a differenc, Mr. Farrow!

West Craven High 4

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
2004-05 the quality of education has improved with the implementation of Freshman Academy. WCHS Music & Choral program continues to be outstanding. We have one of the finest marching & colorguard teams in the East. Atheletics remains strong. The academic areas are more competitive & at higher standards than previous years. Collaborative efforts with CCC & ECU are providing our children with a better education. Yes their is serious room for improvement in facilities, teachers and staffing but as a parent I see many fine educators raising their standards, administration working to ensure that the student gets the best they have to offer. To encourage our youth to seek higher education beyond a HS diploma. For a school in the country, that needs new facilities it's great to see the talent both by educators & students working together to excel.

West Craven High
no rating

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
West Craven High School offers an excellent music curriculum.


West Craven High 4

Posted November 03, 2004
- a parent
As a student at West Craven High, I find the school somewhat secure and organized, but things can be improved. Fights can be somewhat 'involved' and frightening, but things are resolved in a tolerably positive way by our on-site deputy. Classes leave something to be desired, as we have few AP courses and a rather limited list of really good teachers. Overall, this is a slightly-above average school to come to. New Bern High is the place to go if you have a high-achieving teacher, but if you are highly successful in sports, you should come here. An excellent football program and good baseball, golf, and basketball programs support this view.

Nearby schools

West Craven High
2600 Streets Ferry Rd, Vanceboro, NC  28586
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (252) 244-3200
Last modified West Craven High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top