Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Craven High 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
This school has gone seriously downhill since the change in leadership in 2008. Previous principals at this school consistently enforced discipline and involved the community. The new one appears to play "favorites" in student discipline, is uninterested in any input on school matters from parents, and has managed to run off over half the teachers in the school in just three years. Last year my youngest child had 3 first year teachers in one semester and one experienced teacher, until the experienced teacher quit 3 weeks into the semester. Seriously, how is a principal this bad staying employed. My daughter will be attending a different school next year....

West Craven High 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a teacher
West Craven High is the BEST of the three secondary schools in Craven County. GO EAGLES !!!!!


West Craven High 1

Posted December 19, 2010
- a student
I woulden't even send my dog to this school teachers do not care for teh well being of their students not all but some some of them were verry friendly and i learned quite a bit from some. However the no tolerence for bullying is not enforced i was bullied to the point of not going back to the school after being threatend. Even after reporting the bullying nothing what so ever was done about it. I also know for a fact i was not the only one bullied i saw it going on every day, If the school enforced their so called Misson statment which somewhere says they want to make a safe envornment for those who want to learn maybe it wouldent be so bad but until then this school is horrible.
1 person found this helpful

West Craven High 5

Posted November 01, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Craven High 4

Posted October 17, 2008
- a community member
I think this school does everything possible to prepare it's youth for the future that lies ahead of them


West Craven High 3

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
I think that the leadership is not sufficient. Ask the children they attend the school, not the parents.

West Craven High 5

Posted April 21, 2008
- a community member
The principal is awesome and has a heart for the teachers and most importantly, the students; he values parents and reaches out to the various publics in an effort to improve the performance of his students; continue to make a differenc, Mr. Farrow!

West Craven High 1

Posted April 01, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


West Craven High 4

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
2004-05 the quality of education has improved with the implementation of Freshman Academy. WCHS Music & Choral program continues to be outstanding. We have one of the finest marching & colorguard teams in the East. Atheletics remains strong. The academic areas are more competitive & at higher standards than previous years. Collaborative efforts with CCC & ECU are providing our children with a better education. Yes their is serious room for improvement in facilities, teachers and staffing but as a parent I see many fine educators raising their standards, administration working to ensure that the student gets the best they have to offer. To encourage our youth to seek higher education beyond a HS diploma. For a school in the country, that needs new facilities it's great to see the talent both by educators & students working together to excel.

West Craven High 0
no rating

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
West Craven High School offers an excellent music curriculum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Craven High
2600 Streets Ferry Road, Vanceboro, NC  28586
(252) 244-3200
Last modified West Craven High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Craven High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.