Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,594 students|Franklin Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
We love Mrs. Phillips because she brought my happy kid back! I can never thank her enough for that!

Franklin Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I've only had experience with one main teacher there, but she is very caring. His math teacher did have him pulled out for remediation even though he has an A when he started not finishing something very fast. I think they are very proactive!


Franklin Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Some days we might have a little too much, but it is usually the days when my son doesn't finish class work. He has trouble focusing, so I think if it were anymore it would be too much.

Franklin Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Yes, in second grade my son has to write stories and study for big unit tests in science and social studies. He also has to read and do math daily.

Franklin Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
They work on a daily point system where they have to show teachers respect to get a 100.


Franklin Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My son fell one day, and he had another student help him up and get the dirt off.

Franklin Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
One of my son's teachers told me one day to let me let him make mistakes, so he can learn from them to feel disappointment. She said he will strive to do better!

Franklin Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
We moved here lst year, and we had our son in a 10/10 rated school. I wasn't happy with him there because he cried all the time, so I pulled him out and put him in Franklin. They brought my happy kid back! They are always so happy to see him and hug him and treat him like family!! When he struggles with something they give him extra help that he needs! He is not a number there like he was at the other school! I love Franklin Academy!!


Franklin Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Teachers that care and small class sizes. We are blessed to be a part of the FA family

Franklin Academy 2

Posted April 22, 2015
- a student
This school is about to lose its best benefit- everyone over a certain GPA gets their transcript sent to colleges showing they are 1st in their class. This means that some classes have had more than 10 "valedictorians" (that's like 10% of the class), each one getting their transcripts sent to colleges showing they are 1st in the class, and this has made it really easy for unqualified students to get into competitive schools like UNC. But I think that's about to end, since the state is making AP and honors classes worth less, so you can t hit the valedictorian GPA. I guess from the perspective of a former valedictorian, there are some bad points. I've had a pretty rough time in college, and I think my words to current FA students would be that what you learned in high school only covers the first month of college, and extra credit doesn't exist in college. My advice to the administration would be to have stronger alumni relations so you can see how we all do, but somehow I think the they aren t open to feedback or change. This isn't a bad school - it is pretty sheltered, and the academics are pretty good - but it sure isn't a "prep" school or a "public-private" school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin Academy
1127 Chalk Road, Wake Forest, NC  27587
(919) 570-8262
Last modified Franklin Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top