Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington High

Public | 9-12 | 961 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2009

I went to Washington High School and graduated in 2007. I enjoyed attending this school and I would recommend it to anyone who is willing to to try and wanting to make something out of themselves. The school offers a variety of AP courses. Along with an excellent Early College programs that allows you to take college courses at the community college while still being enrolled in high school for free. That is a huge advantage for any college bound student. If the students is willing to try the teachers are willing to help you. There are not any handouts at this school. You must try. Every teacher was willing and wanting to help each and every student who wanted to be help. The Guidance Counselor were not the best but they will help if you stay on them. We had many other area students try to transfer into WHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

This school is not parent friendly at all! The principal picks and chooses who he will and will not listen to and if you have a difference of opinion you may as well hang it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I graduated from Washington High in 1999. When I entered college, I found that I had received a better education than most of my peers. Also, I came into college with several hours of college credit thanks to all of the AP classes Washington offers.


Posted October 31, 2008

I don't like this school at all. There are alot of teachers that just don't care about the students, there just there for a pay check. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I didn't enjoy attending this school. Teachers had their favorites and ignored the needs of others. Prom and other functions were a disappointment. I wasn't a part of the 'in' clique who put together yearbooks and failed to put my credentials next to my pic. Thanks for the great memories. NOT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

This school is really boring the only thing good about it is the sports! I'm really getting tired of being here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

This school is not all that good. We have rats and roaches crawling all over the place, even in the labs in Foods class. The Modulars are very small and cramped and are not very pleasant. Some of the administrative staff are very rude and get nasty if you try to ask them something. The some of the teachers are fake. I would not recommend this school and plus the school is very poor. they have good computers though
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

This school is a great place to work. It has great technology, an incredibly supportive and determined administration, and a positive atmosphere!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

This school is dangerous and horrible student and teacher wise, but has the best technolgy and money.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

242 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
63%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

165 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

231 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

269 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

159 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

180 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students12%
Female11%
Male13%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students13%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant12%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students33%
Female30%
Male36%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students45%
Female55%
Male36%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial82%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 52%
Black 36% 26%
Hispanic 12% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Russell Holloman
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 946-9633
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Slatestone Road
Washington, NC 27889
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 946-0858

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Unity Christian Academy
Chocowinity, NC


Southside High
Chocowinity, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT