Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Montessori
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Snyder was the best, but sadly is no longer there. Mr. Johnson is great as well.

Washington Montessori
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Only for those that fit in their "box" and follow their religious beliefs.... otherwise, no.


Washington Montessori
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
This school only seems fair to :parents who donate or those who are Christian. Since the new dual administration took over there is a strong Christian agenda being pushed... and if a child/teen has different relIgious beliefs or If they are homosexual, they are held to stricter rules and face harsher punishment. It's sad because this use to be a very accepting, inclusive school.... not anymore.

Washington Montessori 2

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
The atmosphere of this school was awesome through the 2013-2014 school year. After that new dual administration took over and they have been pushing a strong Christian agenda. There are kids who are from different religious backgrounds as well as homosexual kids/teens that are held to stricter rules and harsher punishments than their "Christian" peers simply because they don't meet the administration's standards. They have teachers who push the Christian religion in class and talk down other beliefs. This is not the way a PUBLIC Charter School should behave.

Washington Montessori 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. I have three children here at three different levels. The administration and staff are passionate about teaching Montessori. The schools academics are rich. My children are becoming independent learners and thinkers. My children's emotional and social needs are nurtured. They are becoming problem solvers.They are gaining a sense of community and world awareness. This school teaches the whole child.


Washington Montessori 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I am a bit stymied by the negative reviews of this school. My family has been associated with Washington Montessori for the past four years, and I can honestly say that it has been a godsend. My children have thrived academically and socially. Two of my children are currently enrolled in this institution, and my third child is a recent Washington Montessori Middle School graduate. Yes, there were administrative changes at the school this past year, and I understand that some felt slighted by these changes. However, it stands to reason that there will always be stress associated with these types of transition. What bothers me is that families would pull their kids from an institution that they claimed to have believed in, rather than to allow a new administration to settle in and find its groove. I hope that these families find an school that meets their particular needs. I can certainly say that my family supports this school, its teachers, and its administrative body. We are thankful that we have had the opportunity to be part of Washington Montessori.

Washington Montessori 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
We love this school! The teachers are wonderful and the environment is friendly and welcoming. This is an educational community which helps students with more than academics. It helps students with true life lessons -- working well with others, taking personal responsibility, and using talents to the best ability. Teachers/ administration are receptive to any concerns we make and we are met with sincerity and understanding. Parents are encouraged for participation and thankfully the school seems to effectively deal with bad behavior, instead of letting it fester as in most public schools. In what other school can you witness 1st, 2nd and 3rd graders moving from work station to work station and actually DOING work quietly and respectfully, all while students actively help each other under the guidance of the teacher? If you are looking for a traditional approach to learning this is not for you; but if you are searching for a school which values academic achievement while promoting a loving and giving social environment, then your search is over. I am only ranking this 4 stars because of the lack of extra curricular opportunities, but there is an excellent violin program and soccer.

Washington Montessori 2

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
Success of children is secondary. Something in 2012 - 2013 changed. Kids are being pulled from the school. They are not following the Montessori method.


Washington Montessori 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers, parents and school environment are phenomenal. This has been an excellent choice for our children, but is not for everyone or every child; it is not a one-size-fits-all traditional educational approach. Our children are blessed with the opportunity to learn in an environment that fosters grace, courtesy and creativity as much as it does academics.

Washington Montessori 1

Posted April 09, 2013
- a parent
Sadly I will remove my children from this school at the end of this school year. Lack of proper administration has caused all sorts of problems. The teachers are wonderful, but overwhelmed due to the lack of leadership. The atmosphere of this school is unpleasant and what a shame that it is so.

Nearby schools

Washington Montessori
2330 Old Bath Hwy, Washington, NC  27889
(252) 946-1977
Last modified Washington Montessori is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top