Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Waxhaw, NC
Students enrolled: 401

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Do not let the olderappearance fool you! Inside this cozy school are caring teachers, administration & staff that really care about your child. Warm and welcoming, great sense of family and community. We found all teachers to be thorough and truly care about their jobs. A hidden gem in the country!

Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are caring and friendly at our school. We just love it here.


Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Western Union is more than a school. It is a family. The staff, from the Administration to the teachers, teacher assistants, secretaries, custodians, after school workers, and cafeteria workers -- everyone cares about every child. All children are treated equally and fairly. Truly one of the best schools in UCPS.

Western Union Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2012
- a parent
alot of bullying going on and over looked and always excuses and turned around on to the child getting bullied the staff thinks that the child should learn how to let things roll over them and not let things bother them and go and play with other kids

Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
Western Union Elementary is a fantastic school ! It is small and quaint in the country but this is one of the many reasons we love this school! The teachers line the halls in the morning to greet the kids and they treat their students with respect and kindness. The PTO President is excellent. She brings the teachers and parents together to keep the lines of communication open. The students are the priority in western union and this shows with the commitment of the teachers! I was disappointed to see the lack of parent involvement in the school and PTO. I do not think this is a reflection of the school . In addition, the leadership of the school (principal) will benefit from listening to the teachers more and be more positive.


Western Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
The teacher's are wonderful, loving, and it's a great community school. Lots of great learning going on.

Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Western Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
My daughter goes to Western Union and her teacher, Mrs. Dobbins, is Teacher of the year. I love this school and Mrs. Webb, the principal is a wonderful women and role model. Stephanie Conrad
1 person found this helpful


Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Western Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2007
- a parent
Western Union is a tremendous school. Our kids were there for several years and it has gone thru a lot of changes over the years. They have maintained a very 'family' feel to the school, we couldn't have asked for a better place for our kids, especially our son in the EC program. We felt like we were leaving family behind when it was time to move on!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Union Elementary School
4111 Western Union School Road, Waxhaw, NC  28173
(704) 843-2153
Last modified Western Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western Union Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top