Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kensington Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 836 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

Super sense of community. Very involved parents and staff. So far our experiences in K and 1st have been with top notch teachers and staff. Like the communication from the teachers we have had. Principal supports her teachers. She can improve her communication by streamlining what is sent out to families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

In my experience the teachers go out of their way to ensure the students are well taken care of and receive the best education, and I have seen personally how the principal and asst. principal are very kind and loving to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

This school is great, very impressed with the AIG programs offered. Would be even better if they allowed students to chat at lunch like Rea View is allowed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I have 3 children with varying academic needs and Kensington has done an excellent job with all of them. The program for Academically Gifted children is amazing andeveryone is very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Kensington is a wonderful school with a fantastic group of parents and kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

My child went to Kensington for three years and we were very pleased. She is now in middle school and is doing very well, so Kensington and its teachers definitely prepare their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My children are just finishing up their first year at Kensington and I am so pleased with the quality of education they have received there. The school has a strong plan for instruction for each grade level and the faculty works hard making sure the students master their skills. Assessment is a key element and they use it to plan for instruction. They also use a type of instruction called 'round table' where the students are grouped according to skills they need to work on, and then are instructed in those specific skills. As an educator who spent years training teachers on effective techniques and strategies to use in their classrooms, I was thrilled to see many put to use at Kensington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I think this school is terrible. We pulled our daughter out and put her in catholic school because she was not getting the accelerated reading help that she needed and the math program was laughable. She has done beautifully in her new school environment. I also feel that the principal is lacking in any educational direction for the children. Some of the teachers were good but it was the luck of the draw and if you did not like the teacher that you had, any comments (positive or negative) were not looked upon in a favorable light. I agree with the other posting, do not be fooled by this school being in the Union County District. This principal runs her school to cater to mediocrity and there is no push for any of the kids to go beyond what is needed to have mid-line test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

We started our daughter at Kensington this fall and couldn't be happier. Her teacher was a good find, and our daughter cannot wait to getup in the morning to go to school ... says a lot about the atmosphere there. Recommend it without hesitation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I have two children at Kensington and have been with the school since it opened in 2005. The school has come a long way --it grew to become a School of Excellence in 2007, expanded enrollment to over 700 students, and added a number of talented teaching staff as well as a variety of programs to better meet the needs of students with a range of academic abilities. I have been very pleased with the teachers who seem to really care about our children and work very hard to meet individual needs. I have also been impressed with the level of parent/PTO involvement in creating a supportive partnership with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

My children both attend Kensington. I have one child that is gifted and one child that is an average student. There is a lot of parent involvement in the school. In my opinion there are too many parents in the school at times. I would rather have my children surrounded by teachers who are there to educate the students and keep the nosey parents out of the classroom. Other than that I a very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

My daughter is a kindergartner at Kensington and we have had great experiences with all aspects of the school thus far. We moved from a school district in NJ with highly rated schools, and what our NJ friends are now learning in first grade, the kindergartners are learning at Kensington. There is a very active PTO committee, high parent involvement and caring staff at Kensington. Very happy with this school thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Kensington was rated Honor School of Excellence (10) for the most recent school year. Tremendous progress was made in all areas of performance in their third year of operation. The teachers are extremely caring and talented. Parent contribution in this school is second to none. Simply a great school for all grade levels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

This school lacks a good Academically Gifted Program, lacks a Principal who values education and challenge as well as parent contribution in the classroom-- don't be fooled by Union County Schools... they are not equal to other states academic rigors. Change should be demanded by parents in this school or property values will continue to suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

My children transferred midterm to Kensington and in comparison to their old school this school is lacking in many ways. My children were constantly challenged by their teachers in their old school; here they seem to be over looked. So far I am very concerned at the level of education my children are receiving. I was assured that Kensington had high standards on educating their students, but I ve yet to see it. I Hope that it gets better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female69%
Male60%
Black38%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students64%
Female74%
Male55%
Black38%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male79%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male66%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students80%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female72%
Male81%
Black69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students79%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students61%
Female60%
Male63%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted87%

Science

All Students62%
Female49%
Male74%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 52%
Black 8% 26%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8701 Kensington Drive
Waxhaw, NC 28173
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 290-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT