Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
RE-posting this review below as it was in the wrong school review section before: This school is fantastic. The teachers are friendly and educated and work with the children to figure out how to do their worksheets. My son is in Kindergarten there. All the parents I have spoken with seem to be happy with their children's teachers as well. I haven't heard any complaints-except for the drop off line which can be overpacked in the morning. The teachers are great about communicating with the parents on small details, deadlines, etc via the "communication folder" that goes home each day. There is also a small amount of homework which I was surprised about, but my son is able to handle it better than I thought. I recommend this school if you are moving out to Waxhaw, NC! (i'm originally from the NorthEast) There is also a Mandarin immersion program at this school via the Splash Program and available through lottery only. Submitted by a parent

Kensington Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Super sense of community. Very involved parents and staff. So far our experiences in K and 1st have been with top notch teachers and staff. Like the communication from the teachers we have had. Principal supports her teachers. She can improve her communication by streamlining what is sent out to families.


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
In my experience the teachers go out of their way to ensure the students are well taken care of and receive the best education, and I have seen personally how the principal and asst. principal are very kind and loving to the kids.

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is great, very impressed with the AIG programs offered. Would be even better if they allowed students to chat at lunch like Rea View is allowed.

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
I have 3 children with varying academic needs and Kensington has done an excellent job with all of them. The program for Academically Gifted children is amazing andeveryone is very happy!


Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
Kensington is a wonderful school with a fantastic group of parents and kids!

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
My child went to Kensington for three years and we were very pleased. She is now in middle school and is doing very well, so Kensington and its teachers definitely prepare their children.

Kensington Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My children are just finishing up their first year at Kensington and I am so pleased with the quality of education they have received there. The school has a strong plan for instruction for each grade level and the faculty works hard making sure the students master their skills. Assessment is a key element and they use it to plan for instruction. They also use a type of instruction called 'round table' where the students are grouped according to skills they need to work on, and then are instructed in those specific skills. As an educator who spent years training teachers on effective techniques and strategies to use in their classrooms, I was thrilled to see many put to use at Kensington.


Kensington Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 16, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is terrible. We pulled our daughter out and put her in catholic school because she was not getting the accelerated reading help that she needed and the math program was laughable. She has done beautifully in her new school environment. I also feel that the principal is lacking in any educational direction for the children. Some of the teachers were good but it was the luck of the draw and if you did not like the teacher that you had, any comments (positive or negative) were not looked upon in a favorable light. I agree with the other posting, do not be fooled by this school being in the Union County District. This principal runs her school to cater to mediocrity and there is no push for any of the kids to go beyond what is needed to have mid-line test scores.

Kensington Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
We started our daughter at Kensington this fall and couldn't be happier. Her teacher was a good find, and our daughter cannot wait to getup in the morning to go to school ... says a lot about the atmosphere there. Recommend it without hesitation!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kensington Elementary School
8701 Kensington Drive, Waxhaw, NC  28173
(704) 290-1500
Last modified Kensington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kensington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top