Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Waxhaw, NC
Students enrolled: 1,454

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marvin Ridge High School 4

Posted June 08, 2014
- a student
Since I only attended MRHS for two years, take my rating with a grain of salt. MRHS is pretty good all around in athletics, academics, and extracurriculars. However, it is important to note that the grades are somewhat inflated. While is the instruction is without a doubt above average (most teachers have masters degrees), MRHS does not give students the necessary opportunities for students to be exceptional. Many students from MRHS are not exceptional at critical reading or writing (note the slightly above average SAT scores). In addition, MRHS does not offer many options in science or mathematics. While there is (or was, pretty sure it's gone now) a math club, MRHS did not participate in the AMC consistently. IN the years where they did participate, NONE of the students qualified for AIME (ok, maybe 1 or 2 by now). Many students are unaware of science fairs or research opportunities. The school does not pay the $75 (I think it was 75, not entirely sure) to participate in USABO, USNCO, or USAPhO despite having a pretty solid biology curriculum (Mrs. Walker is super good. Few students in the state get this kind of education). That being said, MRHS is still far above average.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted December 29, 2013
- a student
Marvin Ridge High is the best! Our Academics succeed over many other schools in the district as well as the state. There is literally a club for almost everything and you can even start your own if you want. There is a lot of diversity and individuality here. Many people believe that Marvin Ridge is practically almost like a private school. There are so many courses available here as a student!


Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Marvin Ridge High school and its 5 stars! Teachers, staff, are like those at a private school. 100% graduation rate, very high college rate, great school!

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
Moved out of Charlotte just to get my duaghters into this school. did not like the way Charlotte schools were going and was not impressed by Charlottte Catholic. I have been very pleased with the outcome.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
I have a son that is entering the 10th grade at Marvin Ridge. He started at the middle school in 2010 and we could not be happier. We moved here from Oklahoma and can tell you this school rivals Private schools in that part of the country. The teachers/coaches are caring and kind and the entire staff as well as the students are proud to be a part of this school. The Principal and staff are the best I have see and I have sent 4 boys through the US Public School System- in three different states.


Marvin Ridge High School 3

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I have a daughter attending this school and she is doing well. The teachers for the most part are above average, as well as the school academics. The area below average is the administration. Unfortunately, the front office staff is not helpful and tends to have a negative attitude toward parents. The principal lacks leadership and management skills in handling tough issues and tends to insulate himself within the confines of the school walls and policy. The front office needs training in customer service and assistance. The principal should have more training in resource management and administration services.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
I have had two daughters graduate from Marvin Ridge HS. They attended from the day it first opened. Overall, this is an excellent school. Both of my children were in Honors/AP programs and had great teachers (mostly) who took the time to ensure the kids were prepared for college and beyond.

Marvin Ridge High School 1

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marvin Ridge High School
2825 Crane Road, Waxhaw, NC  28173
(704) 290-1520
Last modified Marvin Ridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marvin Ridge High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top