Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marvin Ridge High School 3

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The culture at this school needs work.There is a shocking amount of racism and homophobia among students. Both of my straight, WASP children have seen racial slurs used in front of staff with no corrections or reprimands by teachers. Pretty sickening and unacceptable in this day an age!

Marvin Ridge High School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended MRHS when Tim Conner was the principal. My daughter was bullied. The bullies did not receive consequences. She had to leave and get a GED. She still suffers from her abuse. I have heard of other incidents. This school did not protect my daughter. I don't know what might of happened if I didn't take her out. She currently has a 3.8 grade point average with college level courses.


Marvin Ridge High School 4

Posted June 08, 2014
- a student
Since I only attended MRHS for two years, take my rating with a grain of salt. MRHS is pretty good all around in athletics, academics, and extracurriculars. However, it is important to note that the grades are somewhat inflated. While is the instruction is without a doubt above average (most teachers have masters degrees), MRHS does not give students the necessary opportunities for students to be exceptional. Many students from MRHS are not exceptional at critical reading or writing (note the slightly above average SAT scores). In addition, MRHS does not offer many options in science or mathematics. While there is (or was, pretty sure it's gone now) a math club, MRHS did not participate in the AMC consistently. IN the years where they did participate, NONE of the students qualified for AIME (ok, maybe 1 or 2 by now). Many students are unaware of science fairs or research opportunities. The school does not pay the $75 (I think it was 75, not entirely sure) to participate in USABO, USNCO, or USAPhO despite having a pretty solid biology curriculum (Mrs. Walker is super good. Few students in the state get this kind of education). That being said, MRHS is still far above average.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted December 29, 2013
- a student
Marvin Ridge High is the best! Our Academics succeed over many other schools in the district as well as the state. There is literally a club for almost everything and you can even start your own if you want. There is a lot of diversity and individuality here. Many people believe that Marvin Ridge is practically almost like a private school. There are so many courses available here as a student!

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Marvin Ridge High school and its 5 stars! Teachers, staff, are like those at a private school. 100% graduation rate, very high college rate, great school!


Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
Moved out of Charlotte just to get my duaghters into this school. did not like the way Charlotte schools were going and was not impressed by Charlottte Catholic. I have been very pleased with the outcome.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
I have a son that is entering the 10th grade at Marvin Ridge. He started at the middle school in 2010 and we could not be happier. We moved here from Oklahoma and can tell you this school rivals Private schools in that part of the country. The teachers/coaches are caring and kind and the entire staff as well as the students are proud to be a part of this school. The Principal and staff are the best I have see and I have sent 4 boys through the US Public School System- in three different states.

Marvin Ridge High School 3

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I have a daughter attending this school and she is doing well. The teachers for the most part are above average, as well as the school academics. The area below average is the administration. Unfortunately, the front office staff is not helpful and tends to have a negative attitude toward parents. The principal lacks leadership and management skills in handling tough issues and tends to insulate himself within the confines of the school walls and policy. The front office needs training in customer service and assistance. The principal should have more training in resource management and administration services.


Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
I have had two daughters graduate from Marvin Ridge HS. They attended from the day it first opened. Overall, this is an excellent school. Both of my children were in Honors/AP programs and had great teachers (mostly) who took the time to ensure the kids were prepared for college and beyond.

Marvin Ridge High School 5

Posted October 19, 2007
- a parent
I am so happy to have my daughter attend the new Marvin Ridge High School. The administration has done a wonderful job at welcoming the students and promoting spirit between the grades. They have also achieved above and beyond the expectations of a new school. The athletic department has provided experience and teamwork to a guide a new, young football team. They have proven themselves worthy with a play-off position. The extremely small, but enthusiastic and mighty marching band has already won several awards. Keep up the good work Mavericks!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marvin Ridge High School
2825 Crane Rd, Waxhaw, NC  28173
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (704) 290-1520
Last modified Marvin Ridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top