Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
The entrance to the school is immaculate and welcoming. A Volunteer may greet so you can sign in and asked to wear a Visitor's Badge. CMS prides itself in protection of students and staff. The friendly office personnel display excellent professionalism You will notice exceptional Art created by the students and the band may be filling the halls with music. At the Gymnasium you can witness various activiites. The entire school is bright and cheerful because of the custodial staff striving for cleanliness. There are many choices of foods in the Cafeteria. In the Media Center students are working on computers, checking out and reading books and a learning experience being conducted by the Media Specialist. The students have an air of friendliness with their smiles and it is obvious these students enjoy being at Cuthbertson Middle School. They are privileged students partaking in many aspects of education taught by top notch educators. The School Administrators are readily available to resolve any situtation which may arise. The school consists of one BIG FAMILY all working together.

Cuthbertson Middle School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
If your child has any challenges in learning I would highly advise you not attend this school. They punish children who struggle with Academic Probation which means the student cannot attend school dances, or any football, basketball game or any social afterschool function. Also, your child is called up in front of the class to line up and go to a special room during recretion time each day for a study hall time inwhich no assistance is offered. This method is very damaging to the students self-esteem. My daughter has been teased by the other students about her grades because its a known fact due to the staff that she struggles in math. My two years at Cutherbertson Middle has been a nightmare and has played havoc on my daughters self-esteem. If your child is perfect and bright this is the school for you so you can help them keep their status to look good. They are failures at assisting students who struggle in any subject instead they take the easy way out and just punish them for what they cannot help.


Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
Upon frequest visits to the school, I always view the students as very well behaved, friendly and on task. Teachers are outstanding and staff works together as one big family with the success of their students as a number one priority.

Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
I think Cuthbertson is a great School. Both of my children go there and the teacher to child ratio is better than a lot of other schools around the same area. The School has great pride and keeps moving forward.

Cuthbertson Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
The total school environment is very organized. This includes cleanliness of the building, cafeteria management, school grounds and mainly all the classrooms. The Principal is on "top" of any and all issues which arise. There seem to be no discipline problems. Each child appears to be there to learn and participate in the many sports and extra curricular activities offered. It would be great if each parent would participate in the Go For The Gold which is simply donating $50, $75, $100 or ANY amount, so the school could have 100% participation for each and every student. It's a one time contribution. Giving school a 4 star rating because of the lack of more participation by parents.


Cuthbertson Middle School 3

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
Most teachers are wonderful. Some seem very overwhelmed and unorganized. Too many practice tests for EOG start in April and seems like learning stops when practice tests and busy work for tests start. Volunteering has nothing to do with it - you can volunteer for school activities, fundraisers but not to help teachers with overwhelmed.

Cuthbertson Middle School 3

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
For a school where the average teacher has 90 students assigned, it is well run. However, because of high student teacher ratios, there are problems with teachers being able to communicate expectations to parents. Websites are often outdated or incomplete. Students must be able to self manage in order to excel. If your child doesn't have that maturity yet, good chance they may struggle and not perform to expectations. The teachers for the most part so far have been excellent. The bad apple can make it very tough on a student and school should identify these more quickly and weed them out.

Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
We moved here recently from the Raleigh, NC area and I have a daughter with autism attending this school. So far, she has had an amazing experience! The administration and teachers are very sensitive to her individual needs and have been able to provide the support she needs. She loves going to school and I see a confidence in her that I have never seen before. She has been successfully attending Art and PE with typical children and she is given the choice to eat lunch in her self contained class or the cafeteria; usually she choose the cafeteria! She has recently started riding the bus to school per her request. Her teacher shared with me that he feels tremendous support from the administration, which is a real challenge at times. Her teacher is a grandparent of a child with special needs and he "gets it". Thank you Cuthbertson for helping my daughter reach her potential!
2 people found this helpful


Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
Great school, they really push the kids, and have a helpful staff. The school is clean, and new.

Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
Cuthbertson is Great. This is my daughters first year at Cuthbertson and she has loved it. We moved here last year from NY and it has been such a blessing to have teacher and a principle that listen. Go Cavs

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cuthbertson Middle School
1520 Cuthbertson Road, Waxhaw, NC  28173
(704) 296-0107
Last modified Cuthbertson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cuthbertson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top