Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Waxhaw, NC
Students enrolled: 1,195
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cuthbertson Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
The kids have a lot of home work. Some times too much. I'm not sure how they can address this. But with school, sports and after school activity's it gets hard. I hear the same from weddington parents as well.

Cuthbertson Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My son and now my daughter goes to Cuthbertson middle school. My son did great and my daughter has had some learning difficulty's. I'm very proud of the teachers that have jumped in and made a plan for her and her grades have gotten better every semester. Love the school and the energy it brings to the community.


Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
The entrance to the school is immaculate and welcoming. A Volunteer may greet so you can sign in and asked to wear a Visitor's Badge. CMS prides itself in protection of students and staff. The friendly office personnel display excellent professionalism You will notice exceptional Art created by the students and the band may be filling the halls with music. At the Gymnasium you can witness various activiites. The entire school is bright and cheerful because of the custodial staff striving for cleanliness. There are many choices of foods in the Cafeteria. In the Media Center students are working on computers, checking out and reading books and a learning experience being conducted by the Media Specialist. The students have an air of friendliness with their smiles and it is obvious these students enjoy being at Cuthbertson Middle School. They are privileged students partaking in many aspects of education taught by top notch educators. The School Administrators are readily available to resolve any situtation which may arise. The school consists of one BIG FAMILY all working together.

Cuthbertson Middle School 4

Posted January 26, 2014
- a community member
I am writing this review to set something straight. A parent on here wrote that the school punishes kids that have challenges in learining. That is completely false. They do give out Academic Probation which means that if you get a 77 or below in any class you aren't allowed to attend functions, they do this because they want the kid to work on improving their grade instead of wasting their time at these functions. You only get called durning our team time (outside time) for homework detention, if you don't do your homework you must stay inside to finish it. As for remediation the teachers usually tell the students seperatley. They also offer homework help on tuesdays and thursdays for students who are struggling, the school tried in many ways to get every child on the same level, it is the students who simply do not care who get punished. I have attened this school for three years (currently in 8th) and love it, I like alot of my teachers, but the eigth grade teachers are HORRIBLE everyday two teachers gossip in the hall and have touble hiding emotions, they also allow us no freedom like the other grades. In, all it was a decent school.

Cuthbertson Middle School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
If your child has any challenges in learning I would highly advise you not attend this school. They punish children who struggle with Academic Probation which means the student cannot attend school dances, or any football, basketball game or any social afterschool function. Also, your child is called up in front of the class to line up and go to a special room during recretion time each day for a study hall time inwhich no assistance is offered. This method is very damaging to the students self-esteem. My daughter has been teased by the other students about her grades because its a known fact due to the staff that she struggles in math. My two years at Cutherbertson Middle has been a nightmare and has played havoc on my daughters self-esteem. If your child is perfect and bright this is the school for you so you can help them keep their status to look good. They are failures at assisting students who struggle in any subject instead they take the easy way out and just punish them for what they cannot help.
1 person found this helpful


Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
Upon frequest visits to the school, I always view the students as very well behaved, friendly and on task. Teachers are outstanding and staff works together as one big family with the success of their students as a number one priority.

Cuthbertson Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
I think Cuthbertson is a great School. Both of my children go there and the teacher to child ratio is better than a lot of other schools around the same area. The School has great pride and keeps moving forward.

Cuthbertson Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
The total school environment is very organized. This includes cleanliness of the building, cafeteria management, school grounds and mainly all the classrooms. The Principal is on "top" of any and all issues which arise. There seem to be no discipline problems. Each child appears to be there to learn and participate in the many sports and extra curricular activities offered. It would be great if each parent would participate in the Go For The Gold which is simply donating $50, $75, $100 or ANY amount, so the school could have 100% participation for each and every student. It's a one time contribution. Giving school a 4 star rating because of the lack of more participation by parents.


Cuthbertson Middle School 3

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
Most teachers are wonderful. Some seem very overwhelmed and unorganized. Too many practice tests for EOG start in April and seems like learning stops when practice tests and busy work for tests start. Volunteering has nothing to do with it - you can volunteer for school activities, fundraisers but not to help teachers with overwhelmed.
2 people found this helpful

Cuthbertson Middle School 3

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
For a school where the average teacher has 90 students assigned, it is well run. However, because of high student teacher ratios, there are problems with teachers being able to communicate expectations to parents. Websites are often outdated or incomplete. Students must be able to self manage in order to excel. If your child doesn't have that maturity yet, good chance they may struggle and not perform to expectations. The teachers for the most part so far have been excellent. The bad apple can make it very tough on a student and school should identify these more quickly and weed them out.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cuthbertson Middle School
1520 Cuthbertson Road, Waxhaw, NC  28173
(704) 296-0107
Last modified Cuthbertson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cuthbertson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top