Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Hazelwood Elementary has enriched my daughters life, both educationally and socially. Highly recommend to any parents.

Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
I have had kids in several other schools in our area, and none of them compare to the quality of the programs, teachers and staff at Hazelwood. This is the greatest school any of my children have attended!!


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hazelwood Elementary 3

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
Too much time is spent prepping kids for tests and little focus on anything else. I agree with the previous post as to the talk that goes on about change...but little change takes place. the school does have good teachers I just wish they would do more to keep my child interested in learning.

Hazelwood Elementary 0
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hazelwood Elementary 2

Posted January 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hazelwood Elementary 3

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
I feel that there are many good things going on, but unfortunately there is a lot of room for improvement. The real negative is that constant improvement is talked about frequently but little is done to truly acheive meaningful changes. It is like 'the good old boy' network for women. There is also a huge differnce in time and resources spent on the below average, or challenged child compared to those that are average or above. There should be equal time and resources spent on ALL students.


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted December 14, 2004
- a parent
Hazelwood has been a wonderful school for all three of my children. They have excelled in all areas with the guidance of the teachers. They are professional and on the cutting edge. They are also very caring and nurturing. It is obvious they know best practice.

Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted March 06, 2004
- a parent
Hazelwood Elementary School is a great place! My children have learned a great deal. The school is orderly and disciplined which leads to children being able to learn. The teachers care about the students, and most approach teaching in very innovative and motivating ways.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

1111 Plott Creek Road
Waynesville, NC 28786

School website
(828) 456-2406
(828) 456-5438

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazelwood Elementary
1111 Plott Creek Road, Waynesville, NC  28786
(828) 456-2406
Last modified Hazelwood Elementary is a public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hazelwood Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.