Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Hazelwood Elementary has enriched my daughters life, both educationally and socially. Highly recommend to any parents.

Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
I have had kids in several other schools in our area, and none of them compare to the quality of the programs, teachers and staff at Hazelwood. This is the greatest school any of my children have attended!!


Hazelwood Elementary 3

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
Too much time is spent prepping kids for tests and little focus on anything else. I agree with the previous post as to the talk that goes on about change...but little change takes place. the school does have good teachers I just wish they would do more to keep my child interested in learning.

Hazelwood Elementary 3

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
I feel that there are many good things going on, but unfortunately there is a lot of room for improvement. The real negative is that constant improvement is talked about frequently but little is done to truly acheive meaningful changes. It is like 'the good old boy' network for women. There is also a huge differnce in time and resources spent on the below average, or challenged child compared to those that are average or above. There should be equal time and resources spent on ALL students.

Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted December 14, 2004
- a parent
Hazelwood has been a wonderful school for all three of my children. They have excelled in all areas with the guidance of the teachers. They are professional and on the cutting edge. They are also very caring and nurturing. It is obvious they know best practice.


Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted March 06, 2004
- a parent
Hazelwood Elementary School is a great place! My children have learned a great deal. The school is orderly and disciplined which leads to children being able to learn. The teachers care about the students, and most approach teaching in very innovative and motivating ways.

Hazelwood Elementary 3

Posted January 26, 2004
- a parent
Hazelwood has been an Okay school for us. I say Okay because it has alot of room for improvement, especially in the LatchKey program. Children should have more room for choices and just being kids instead of such a strict, boring enviroment for them. It should be a kid freindly enviroment, instead of military format.

Hazelwood Elementary 5

Posted November 07, 2003
- a parent
Hazlewood Elementry is a wonderful school, I have had two children go there. I feel that they have a great teaching staff, and great reading and math help programs which both of my children found very helpful. I also feel that my children are safe while at school which means alot this day and time.

Nearby schools

Hazelwood Elementary
1111 Plott Creek Rd, Waynesville, NC  28786
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (828) 456-2406
Last modified Hazelwood Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top