Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
Waynesville, NC
Students enrolled: 339
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Junaluska Elementary 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Waynesville in March of 2015. We were amazed how professional and compassionate the teachers and principal were. They genuinely care for their students and their academic level of achievement through a focus on reading is excellent. Our daughter started Kindergarten and her teachers even came to our home to welcome her and help her know what to expect. They are amazing.

Junaluska Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
They are amazing. You can tell the teachers are well-trained yet they're open to learning more and desire to make accommodations for kids with special needs.


Junaluska Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I don't think schools should assign to much homework as the kids are in school for so long each day. From what I've seen they seem to have a good balance.

Junaluska Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
There's no fool-proof way to encourage students, but they provide a supportive environment and their teachers qualifications are second to none.

Junaluska Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
All students are expected to show respect both to teachers and to other students. They discourage any bullying which I found was a huge improvement to other elementary schools I've seen previously.


Junaluska Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are great examples of being compassion and patient. I would recommend this school to anyone lucky enough to be able to attend.

Junaluska Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Junaluska are supportive and patient when helping our kids make choices. They are consistent and in our opinion are fair with consequences.

Junaluska Elementary 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
This is my favorite school by far.! We moved to the area in February of this year. My son has an autism spectrum disorder, but is also highly gifted. This staff has bent over backwards to acomidate his special situation and educational needs. The teachers and principal are fantastic, and have different but great and educational teaching styles. I love walking in and hear the students asking to read book sin stead of sit and daydream or doodle. They are a large part of the community and are always war and welcoming both in the school and public off campus settings. If I could wish anything for this school it would be funding for more staff. Their nurse is only there one day a week for maybe 4 hrs (est.). There is NO resource officer on this campus which does also bother me, but they do have safety measures in place for added protection. I would like there to be a gifted teacher on staff full time, or at least more than 2/30 minute enrichment sessions every other week.


Junaluska Elementary 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a parent
Our 3 children started this school in the fall of 2010 and we have been very pleasantly surprised at what a great school this is. Children who do well academically are very much rewarded (under the new principal) and encouraged to excel. Our son, who is a year ahead and in the academically gifted program just loves it. His teacher, realizing that she had an unusually high number of "smart" kids in her class this year actually went out and got books and educated herself on how to engage and challenge these kids while still properly serving her other kids. We give Junaluska Elementary five stars - and we are picky parents!

Junaluska Elementary 3

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Principal Leadership is horrible. The Principal actually believes it's not a good idea to reward children for doing well in school. She says 'children shouldn't be rewarded for doing what they're supposed to be doing'. Yet, she believes that children who don't do so well, should be given opportunities to do better. For example, children who don't do well in school and have bad conduct hold student governent positions and are made bus monitors. Unbelievable!!!! This isn't how the real world works. She's not helping to prepare our children to go out and be successful. She's teaching our children there's no reason to try and do well, because it just doesn't matter. I still believe children who do well academically should be rewarded. I'm so happy she's retiring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Junaluska Elementary
2238 Asheville Road, Waynesville, NC  28786
(828) 456-2407
Last modified Junaluska Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Junaluska Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top