Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tuscola High

Public | 9-12 | 992 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2013

Great high school. Fantastic school system in Haywood county altogether. Highly recommended. Parents are very involved and encouraged to be so. Great sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2010

My daughter is a senior at Tuscola High. She has always had a lot of help at home to develop into the kind of girl that God and her parents would be proud of. We never left it for the school to "raise" our child, but in conjunction with the school staff, fellow students and the parents of her friends she continues to reach for her potential as an adult. In regard to the what she has received from her years at Tuscola,we,her parents, are very satisfied.We would without hesitation recommend Tuscola to any parent of a child who will always be at the forefront of the childs life,and not leave the school with the "raising" responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Tuscola is a great school and it offers several academic classes that other schools in the county do not. It excells in diversity, test scores, and athletics. It is a the best high school in Haywood County and I would feel safe with my child attending there! It has such a warm and welcoming feeling as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Tuscola is one of the most friendly, and welcoming school in WNC. We have amazing test scores, as well as a great athletics department. This school has something for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

I personally don't like this school if you do ask the kids what they like about this school is the athletic. I like doing sports I am a very athletic person, but this school has ZERO education ratings.... !!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2009

This school does care about its sports and not the right edcuation. They built a second gym for what? That was a waste of money to use. It didn't go to education they blow it all on sports. Every student is miserable in this school. They will treat your child as if they were 5 year olds then actual teens or legal adults. It may look good outside....inside is a far worse place for learning! it deserves -5 out of 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

Our family moved here from out of state. We have found Tuscola High School to be an outstanding school. Our son is involved in the ROTC program, which has been wonderful. We have found the staff and teachers to be professional and friendly. Students will get out of it what they want, but, if they are looking to succeed and get a good education, they can find it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

THS is one of the most welcoming small town southern schools you can possibly think of. the teachers, faculty and staff are excellent and the extra curriculars are outstanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

This school is terrible, the principals are terribly unfair, the teachers are completely incompetant education is not their number 1 priority the school is more worried about their sports teams than their students overall i think this school deserves a -2 out of 5
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2008

This is an amazing school. We have an amazing band program run by Tim Wise And Ashley Cooper. great school to go to if you want a great musical education. Highly recommend this school for basic education also. have great classes for those acadimically gifted.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

As a student at Tuscola High School, I'm proud to say I love my school. For those who complain about the fights, that happens at any school, and it is very clear that the principals did everything they could, as quick as they could, to get there. The school is amazing; I personally got recommendations from members of the administration, who helped me with anything and everything they could. Mr. McDonald is a wonderful principal, and all of the assistant principals, guidance counselors as well as all the teachers, are willing to do anything and everything they can in order to make sure we have everything we need in order to graduate and prepare for life. It has been an amazing four years and my thanks goes out to all who have been a part in that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2007

Well I Believe that this is a good school. But the fact about fights is very poor there are fights and the appropriate measures are not taken!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2007

As a student at Tuscola I think that overall it is a fairly good school. Mrs.Mellville is awesome. However in some areas it needs some improvement. The administration needs some work. Our head Principal is great, he is fair, understanding and can get to a fight quicker than most. The assistant Principals need to learn a few things from him.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2006

I am not a parent. I am a graduate of THS and am proud to be a teacher there now. Tuscola's main purpose is teaching and caring for our students. We pride ourselves on the variety of courses offered at such a small school. We encourage our students to be leaders for our community. We teach them responsibility of self for their work and actions. We want our students to be life learners and to not fall into the modern trends of social isolation and self-indulgence. There is more to life than the present. Tuscola leads students to their future and shows them how to take hold of it for themselves. I am proud to be a Mountaineer! - Maggie Melville
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 11, 2006

This school is truely not worried about their children just the idea on making a grade and name for themselves. Education is not the number one concern. The teachers that do want to teach have no say just have to go along with what the principals have to say and they dont request parent involvement which in my eyes in a number one no-no. As long as they look good they dont care who they loss and what is the cost look at their drop out rate it has been getting higher and higher as the years have come to pass. If you are a parent of this school and something is to happen you will find out weeks later and what is said at one meeting with be reworded at the next meeting. No interest in thier children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

There is one great teacher at Tuscola, and that is Mr. Eleazer. He makes a lasting impression on his students & they actually remember what they learn from him (at least, I know I did). I cannot say the same for the principal, his assistant, or the school's ridiculous policies and punishments. Dropping out is as easy as signing your name, & the teachers don't care either way if you graduate or not. There is ZERO knowledge of how to deal with students with learning disabilities or ADD/ADHD. If you're AP, 'smart', & you never question anything, you may be able to make it through this school without serious issues. I dropped out in 11th grade, then homeschooled & learned more in 6 months than I did in 3 years at Tuscola.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2005

I am a graduate of Tuscola High School and I found it to be a terrific experience, the things I gained from some of the teachers will stay with me my entire life. I found the spirit of the administration to be very positive as well! -Amanda Harper
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 12, 2004

Tuscola is a fantastic school. The teachers are all very helpfull, and accomidating. My daughter is a fresh graduate from this fine institution and she loved every minute there. The principal is such a nice and understanding man. Along with the assistant principals and councelers. I'm proud to say my daughter graduated from Tuscola!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The teachers don't really seem to care about the students--a counseler even told my 12th-grade daughter she may as well drop out because she had the flu and was absent for a week. I really like the principal, and the male assistant principal, but the female assistant principal is as negative as the guidance counseler.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

273 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

186 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

271 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

246 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

200 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students16%
Female16%
Male15%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students18%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students36%
Female35%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically gifted80%

English II

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 52%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 26%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Dale McDonald
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 456-2434

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

564 Tuscola School Road
Waynesville, NC 28786
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 456-2408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT