Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Willow Springs Elementary 2

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
This was a great school the first few years, not sure what has changed. The no bullying policy is a joke, have reported threats to the principal and was told nothing could be done. A child was physically hurt and nothing was done. There are some great teachers there, but I have noticed a change in certain areas of the school. Very sad as this was a great school! To allow another child to harm another child when you are made aware by several parents, is not acceptible and to continue to allow it,in one class with nothing done is not okay.

Willow Springs Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Alala is a wonderful example of what a teacher should be. She cares about her class and parents. She was always there to guide the children and discipline when needed in the right way and show love and concern. She is a great teacher! Thank you for being an awesome leader!


Willow Springs Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
It doesn't develop integrity when you say you have a no bullying policy but you allow it to happen and no punishment is given to a child that continues to harm another child that is a great student that never gets into trouble or bothers anyone. A child should never feel scared to go the bathroom because of a child harming them in elementary school? And going to the teacher and she does nothing to help? The parent tries taking to the teacher and principal and nothing changes? That's not integrity or an honest school that I can trust to leave my child at. When you are more worried about chalk on the pavement than a child's care then it is time to rethink your values and reasons for being a principal. You are not taking care of the children any longer and that is a shame.

Willow Springs Elementary 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
BULLYING. Multiple calls saying,"Your child was hit by another student today." Consequences were scarce,including a gun threat. My son was told he would be beat up on the bus. After encouraging him to defend himself, I sent him to school with a recorder. There was name calling between the kids, and my son told the bus driver but was screamed at to"Be quiet"and told the other child was not name calling. This led to the other child physically attacking mine. I was told by staff that bullying is 1 child repeatedly bothering another. My child was attacked by more than 1 child. Really? Because there are signs up in the school, and they tout the bullying prevention horn, there CANNOT be a bullying issue-The problem is my child's social skills and his personality that instigates bullying.VICTIM BLAMING. If the staff refuses to see a problem, the problem will never be fixed. My recorder proved the inefficiency at dealing with children reporting bullying. Now, the children are not allowed to bring electronics to school or they will be expelled from the bus. An attempt at covering up what actually takes place at this school,more concerned about their image than the wellbeing of the children.

Willow Springs Elementary 5

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Teachers are phenomenal and love their students like their own child. I have nothing but good things to say about the school!


Willow Springs Elementary 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
WORST before school program EVER! RUDE RUDE RUDE!!! I have never felt so disrespected in my life! Save your money!

Willow Springs Elementary 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
Willow Springs is an excellent school. I have moved to different locations over the past few years but continued to carry my children to this school. The principals & staff are wonderful. The education that these teachers provide here is amazing. There is no other place I would want my children to go.

Willow Springs Elementary 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Willow springs is a wonderful school! This has been the best experience for my kids. They love their teachers and principals. The students are well behaved and kind to others.


Willow Springs Elementary 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! My son loves this school! He cannot wait to go to school and does not want to Track out. We transferred from a Traditional calendar school to the Year round and my son was behind when he started. They have provided him extra help to get caught up and succeed! We are very pleased and highly recommend the school. We have also used the Before and After school care and he is very happy with those as well. And they have a garden which is such a great learning tool.

Willow Springs Elementary 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is a hidden gem! Starting with the Principal Mrs. Miller ,and most of the teachers and assistant are like your ideal family.my daughter started here the 3-rd grade and we got Mrs.Rochford one of the most wonderful teacher.Then Ms Adams took care of Veronica.We came from Fuquay Elementary where we had horrible experience since the first kindergarten day.I'm sure they have wonderful teachers we just didn't had luck with them. Anyway I highly recommend Willow Springs Elementary in everyway. Did I mentioned my other child Daniel just started Kindergarten here. First week so far and I feel so relaxed because I know he is in the best care

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Willow Springs Elementary
6800 Dwight Rowland Rd, Willow Springs, NC  27592
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (919) 557-2770
Last modified Willow Springs Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top