Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forest Hills Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs Walsh for encouraging deep love of literature, juicy word acquisition, best practices in writing and love of education. You are a gifted and outstanding educator!! So lucky to have you:) Much love and light!

Forest Hills Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
All seasoned staff are outstanding educators that care about education and children. There are a few that don't seem to like kids but mostly, the teachers are amazing!


Forest Hills Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
It depends on the teacher but homework os a chance to improve on classroom time spent on topic. As I mentioned, most time is spent on test prep..

Forest Hills Elementary
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I don't really know, tests, tests and more tests, are the norm grades 3-5. I guess I would say yes?

Forest Hills Elementary
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I don't really know. I believe so. My child seems to respect and love all kids at the school.


Forest Hills Elementary
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I think most emphasis is placed on scores and results. There is only so much time in a day and only so much wiggle room within state guidelines.

Forest Hills Elementary
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
The educators rock it!!! Cant say enough about the seasoned staff. The experienced educators are incredible.

Forest Hills Elementary 4

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
FHGE has fantastic educators, neighborhood, and facilities. All children eat for free which makes a huge difference to many families. The IB push is a plus, language immersion a plus, just wish there was more emphasis on language acquisition, academics, and less importance placed on test scores and test data.


Forest Hills Elementary 1

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
This schools administrators are the worse I've ever experienced. I'm new to the area and this is my child's base school. I come from the largest school district in North Carolina. My child has never been a trouble child in school with no suspensions. Very excelled (above grade level). My child has had to fight every day at school in the bathrooms, on the bus. Comes home crying because he is tired of being hit on. And it is told to me my child is starting with other students. Now remind you we have never had to go through this before. So I asked the Principal and the teacher to look up his previous records to see he has never been a troubled child and get down to the bottom of what the problem is. Guess what my child has been in school for a 1 1/2 months here and they can't compare his records because they never requested them. What tops it off, I was in a conference with the teacher/Principal and I ask about why I don't see much homework? It was told to me that they don't give out a lot of homework because of the kids extra activities (sports), REALLY. The sad thing is the ADMINISTRATORS DONT LISTEN. My experience is that I feel like that don't care NOTHING about kids that may not have it all or the best. They JUDGE kids without getting to know them. Regardless of a child's color, finances or where they live, they should all be TREATED EQUALLY. And I see different, for it to be a small county. I was warned not to go to this school because of the way they treat certain kids. I should have listened.

Forest Hills Elementary
Grateful to: Student

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
To my child that has to be strong everyday because you have people that don't listen

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forest Hills Elementary
602 Colonial Dr, Wilmington, NC  28403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (910) 251-6190
Last modified Forest Hills Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top