Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John J Blair Elementary

Public | K-5 | 592 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

My son has attended Blair since 1st grade. The parent involvement is wonderful, we have great teachers, fundraisers and communication. My son loves it and is challenged in new ways everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

I have been at Blair for quite awhile now. We do have wonderful teachers and staff as well as many parent volunteers! We love Blair but.. I have been on campus alot & there are some things that still don't sit well with me. The open campus, children walking around many times without adult supervision. I agree with the buddy system just as much as the next person but it isn't my very young children I don't trust.. It's the people that drive past, walk past, or recycle at the very public recycle center that is right there basically on the grounds. As well as sorrounding neighborhoods and business'. I think people get too comfortable and forget there are many strangers that sorround this school on a regular basis. i also don't like sending the older (still little) students to do recycle at the end of the day, again without adult supervision. This is elementary school not high school.. Adult supervision on some level at least, should be required at all times. In the morning children should see trusted adults on their journey to class, not b alone. On a positive, everyone is very friendly and helpful but that isn't what I would change. Safety is just as important as good education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

I love this school and everything about it! The only thing I don't like is that all the staff members walk inside after 7:55am. I really don't like my daughter walking to her room by herself. I am pretty sure Teachers and Staff keep a good watch, but the school is an open area. I have never had anything bad happen but its just a scary thought. I think they should keep a few staff members out front until 8:05 at least. I'm not one to run late all the time but it does happen from time to time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Blair is the best school i've ever been to all the teachers are so nice and caring and the school offers great itenerents and wondeful AIG programs and lots of para-educators too. Having just finished my last year at Blair i'm sad but my younger siblings will be starting there next year so me and blair will be able to regroup and visit.


Posted March 2, 2009

Blair is an amazing school with very involved parents and a large diversity of ethnicities and backgrounds. Prior to attending Blair my son was very shy and reserved. Being at Blair has taught him many lessons about people as well as academics. He has had excellent teachers and made great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2006

My children attend Blair Elementary and it is an excellent school. The faculty is highly qualified and care about their students. They have a wonderful PTA with lots of parent volunteers. My son has some special needs and the teachers there are always willing to accomodate him. We love it at Blair!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Blair Elementary is a 'family' school. The North Carolina curriculum is taught to grades K5 by proficient and caring teachers and Para-Educators. During 2004-2005 90.7% of our 3-5 students were PROFICIENT in Reading and Math according to our state testing. Our strong K2 program provides the appropriate building blocks for the development of our upper grade students to perform their best. Music, Art, and PE are taught once weekly by a certified intstructor, as well as by the classroom teacher. Tutoring, Dreams, 'Boys in the Lead', and 'Girls on the Run' are just a few programs offered after school for students. Our PTA is one of the most active in the county and volunteering at school is constant and 'caring!' Blair staff has a low turnover rate and are friendly, caring and more than qualified to provide an excellent level of education at the Elementary level. My children feel safe, have good friends and wonderful teachers. This year for the first time, Blair will start the school year with less than 600 students and not be so overcrowded. I am looking forward to my children's last year at Blair and know anyone would be priveleged to have their child attend and become part of the Blair 'family!'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female53%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students45%
Female40%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female52%
Male47%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female42%
Male54%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male64%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students50%
Female65%
Male39%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically gifted92%

Science

All Students66%
Female65%
Male66%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 52%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Black 8% 26%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Achieved Adequate Yearly Progress (2007)
  • School of Distinction (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Barbara Stock
Fax number
  • (910) 350-2049

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6510 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28405
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 350-2045

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ogden Elementary
Wilmington, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT