Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Blair since 1st grade. The parent involvement is wonderful, we have great teachers, fundraisers and communication. My son loves it and is challenged in new ways everyday.

John J Blair Elementary 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I have been at Blair for quite awhile now. We do have wonderful teachers and staff as well as many parent volunteers! We love Blair but.. I have been on campus alot & there are some things that still don't sit well with me. The open campus, children walking around many times without adult supervision. I agree with the buddy system just as much as the next person but it isn't my very young children I don't trust.. It's the people that drive past, walk past, or recycle at the very public recycle center that is right there basically on the grounds. As well as sorrounding neighborhoods and business'. I think people get too comfortable and forget there are many strangers that sorround this school on a regular basis. i also don't like sending the older (still little) students to do recycle at the end of the day, again without adult supervision. This is elementary school not high school.. Adult supervision on some level at least, should be required at all times. In the morning children should see trusted adults on their journey to class, not b alone. On a positive, everyone is very friendly and helpful but that isn't what I would change. Safety is just as important as good education!
1 person found this helpful


John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
I love this school and everything about it! The only thing I don't like is that all the staff members walk inside after 7:55am. I really don't like my daughter walking to her room by herself. I am pretty sure Teachers and Staff keep a good watch, but the school is an open area. I have never had anything bad happen but its just a scary thought. I think they should keep a few staff members out front until 8:05 at least. I'm not one to run late all the time but it does happen from time to time.

John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted July 06, 2011
- a community member
Blair is the best school i've ever been to all the teachers are so nice and caring and the school offers great itenerents and wondeful AIG programs and lots of para-educators too. Having just finished my last year at Blair i'm sad but my younger siblings will be starting there next year so me and blair will be able to regroup and visit.

John J Blair Elementary 1

Posted December 09, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


John J Blair Elementary 1

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
Blair is an amazing school with very involved parents and a large diversity of ethnicities and backgrounds. Prior to attending Blair my son was very shy and reserved. Being at Blair has taught him many lessons about people as well as academics. He has had excellent teachers and made great friends.

John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J Blair Elementary 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John J Blair Elementary
6510 Market Street, Wilmington, NC  28405
(910) 350-2045
Last modified John J Blair Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John J Blair Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.