Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John T Hoggard High 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
This school is a fine example of an excellent academic community! Three of my four children have graduated from John T. Hoggard and have experieced a higher level of academic success. All have been accepted to Top Universities coming from Hoggard. The teachers are motivating and deeply care about all of their students; regardless of their level. The sports teams are highly competitive and if you have even the slightest amount of natural talent, you can certainly go on to a D1 level from Hoggard. I can't say enough about this school! Certainly, the most outstanding in SE North Carolina if not in the state of NC!

John T Hoggard High 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John T Hoggard High 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John T Hoggard High 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John T Hoggard High 3

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John T Hoggard High 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John T Hoggard High 5

Posted October 25, 2007
- a community member
Six years ago I graduated from this Highschool and I have never forgotten the impact of all the teachers I have had. Some taught books and some taught books and possitive life lessons and I am very thankful for that. The teachers here were not only teachers but mentors as well. Thank you. Having a child of my own now, I look for a great school system like the one I grew up in . I hope my child will be as blessed with a great education the same way I was.

John T Hoggard High 5

Posted April 13, 2006
- a former student
John T. Hoggard High School (Wilmington, NC) is a ideal example of a superior academic institution. Hoggard has a long history of acamdemic success instilled by outstanding faculty and administrators.


John T Hoggard High 3

Posted February 25, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John T Hoggard High 4

Posted January 17, 2006
- a parent
We sent 2 kids through Hoggard, and one is still there. Best public high school in the county, and probably in SE North Carolina. High level of parental involvement, teachers mostly good and occasionally outstanding. Keep your kids in Advanced, Honors, and AP courses, and they'll get into good colleges. Make them participate in band(a real community of good kids and parents) or sports to keep them out of trouble and to give them friends and a place to belong within the larger school. Major sports are compeditive, but there is something for everyone. Cross Country and Track are especially democratic, again, with strong parent involvement. Boy Scouts are particularly strong in this area, and have served us well since elementary school. No gangs at Hogggard, little violence, the usual drugs but no epidemic. Churches a big part of this community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John T Hoggard High
4305 Shipyard Boulevard, Wilmington, NC  28403
(910) 350-2072
Last modified John T Hoggard High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John T Hoggard High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.