Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
We love Pine Valley, our son has been there since Kindergarten and now he's in 2nd grade. We have had excellent teachers and the administration is top notch. We would love to see more amenities added like a gym or at least a cover for the black top. Inclimate weather shouldn't prevent children from getting exercise. We really could not ask for a better school, love it!

Pine Valley Elementary 3

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Average effort by most. Low level of improvement plan for the school. Low level of student reward system. PTA Budget spending falls short


Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Despite its outdated appearance, Pine Valley is a really good neighborhood school. I have 2 kids there that were previously at another highly rated school in the county and they like it better. The teachers do the best with what the County has given them. Its a shame the kids don't have a gym/multi-purpose room and have to exit outside and its a shame the County school board isn't maintaining the grounds. One day the Pine Valley community will get a better looking school with the proper amenities (including adequate parking) that its students and teachers deserve.

Pine Valley Elementary 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Don't waste your time looking at Pine Valley Elementary!! It looks like a PRISON and kids are bused in from everywhere. It's NOT a neighborhood school.

Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Pine Valley Elementary School is a wonderful neighborhood school. My son has had fabulous teachers, who are so invested in the children & the school. We have made great friends at PVES and enjoyed a great education.


Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Pine Valley has a very positive atmosphere where the teachers work hard and the awesome parent volunteers give their time all year long. We are the Top Tigers! Our students and staff are safe, kind, respectful, responsible, and healthy. Our building and facility is in need of an overhead covering for our outside blacktop where our fantastic physical education teacher gives her lessons. Our PE teacher endures all weather elements out there as we do not have a gym or multipurpose room. She withstands the heat, sun, wind, and sometimes rain. If the weather is too bad she must have PE classes in the classrooms which can compromise her great lessons. Our enthusiastic PE teacher has battled cancer this past year and is still able to deliver quality lessons with real objectives to our students with whom she loves dearly. It would be wonderful to provide her and our students with some shelter over their heads while they are learning so many skills. We love our school, students, and staff. Please help us to provide an optimal learning space for Pine Valley's Top Tigers!

Pine Valley Elementary 4

Posted September 25, 2010
- a teacher
The teachers at Pine Valley are dedicated and passionate. The academic programs are challenging, thanks to the teachers. The school could work on stronger administrative leadership.

Pine Valley Elementary
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
I love Pine Valley and my daughter has grown more in the 6 months of attending this school than her previous school. She has problems with her reading and they have been just wonderful to her needs.


Pine Valley Elementary 4

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
This is my son's second year at Pine Valley. We feel that it has been a wonderful school. Both his Kindergarten ans 1st grade teachers are great. Kindergarten teacher helped my son with the transition to a new school since we moved here after Christmas break. 1st grade teacher, I am getting the same caring response from her as well so far this year. I would definitely recommend this school!

Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This is our daughter's kindergarten year at Pine Valley. We have been very pleased with our experience there. Her teacher is caring and enthusiatic, and the staff has been helpful. Pine Valley's positive behavior system has been recognized at the state level. We love how positive character traits are taught from day one and rewarded when displayed by students. I have no experience with the previous principal, but the new one seems to be doing a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Valley Elementary
440 John South Mosby Dr, Wilmington, NC  28412
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (910) 350-2121
Last modified Pine Valley Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top