Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine Valley Elementary 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Don't waste your time looking at Pine Valley Elementary!! It looks like a PRISON and kids are bused in from everywhere. It's NOT a neighborhood school.

Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Pine Valley Elementary School is a wonderful neighborhood school. My son has had fabulous teachers, who are so invested in the children & the school. We have made great friends at PVES and enjoyed a great education.


Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Pine Valley has a very positive atmosphere where the teachers work hard and the awesome parent volunteers give their time all year long. We are the Top Tigers! Our students and staff are safe, kind, respectful, responsible, and healthy. Our building and facility is in need of an overhead covering for our outside blacktop where our fantastic physical education teacher gives her lessons. Our PE teacher endures all weather elements out there as we do not have a gym or multipurpose room. She withstands the heat, sun, wind, and sometimes rain. If the weather is too bad she must have PE classes in the classrooms which can compromise her great lessons. Our enthusiastic PE teacher has battled cancer this past year and is still able to deliver quality lessons with real objectives to our students with whom she loves dearly. It would be wonderful to provide her and our students with some shelter over their heads while they are learning so many skills. We love our school, students, and staff. Please help us to provide an optimal learning space for Pine Valley's Top Tigers!

Pine Valley Elementary 4

Posted September 25, 2010
- a teacher
The teachers at Pine Valley are dedicated and passionate. The academic programs are challenging, thanks to the teachers. The school could work on stronger administrative leadership.

Pine Valley Elementary 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
I love Pine Valley and my daughter has grown more in the 6 months of attending this school than her previous school. She has problems with her reading and they have been just wonderful to her needs.


Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pine Valley Elementary 4

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
This is my son's second year at Pine Valley. We feel that it has been a wonderful school. Both his Kindergarten ans 1st grade teachers are great. Kindergarten teacher helped my son with the transition to a new school since we moved here after Christmas break. 1st grade teacher, I am getting the same caring response from her as well so far this year. I would definitely recommend this school!

Pine Valley Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This is our daughter's kindergarten year at Pine Valley. We have been very pleased with our experience there. Her teacher is caring and enthusiatic, and the staff has been helpful. Pine Valley's positive behavior system has been recognized at the state level. We love how positive character traits are taught from day one and rewarded when displayed by students. I have no experience with the previous principal, but the new one seems to be doing a great job.


Pine Valley Elementary 0
no rating

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
The teacher my child has this year is great Other staff members seem very geniune and friendly; however, the principal is very condesending. She seems very cold and shows no empathy at all. I've heard a few teachers express their frustrations with her management style. After reading the other comments, it seems this has been a problem for a few years. Maybe someone will finally address this issue.

Pine Valley Elementary 3

Posted May 21, 2006
- a parent
Pine Valley is an excellent school with dedicated, caring and highly qualified teachers who set high expectations for all students. Due to the the micromanagement leadership style of the principal, teachers and parents feel suppressed and devalued. Teachers here need help from the system administrators to find a way to make this a good working environment!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Valley Elementary
440 John S Mosby Drive, Wilmington, NC  28412
(910) 350-2121
Last modified Pine Valley Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine Valley Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top