Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roland-Grise Middle School 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
Things have definitely changed with the new principal. We were looking forward to a great experience, esp when it came to the AIG program, but it's gone. Replaced by what they call "clustering", meaning they try to attend to students with different needs in one classroom, rather than grouping them separately in any way. Extremely demanding of the teachers, yet way less effective than what they had before. At the same time, the foul language, bullying and negative attitudes of some students on the buses, during recess, and also in the classrooms are alive and well.
2 people found this helpful

Roland-Grise Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
Dr Pinto walks in and changes the curriculum without giving parents the opportunity to pursue open enrollment at another public middle school or move our children to a private school. By combining children in 1 classroom with different abilities and different behavioral issues, we are certain to fail the educational goals of most if not all of the children, as the future test scores will likely reflect this misguided attempt. Great job taking a very successful school and turning it into a disaster. This experiment was tried before at RG and FAILED. Using this model, all students who try out for a sports team at RG should be allowed to play - no sense awarding positions to players who are the most talented. We all miss Mr. Hatch. This could possibly be another self-serving deal orchestrated by Dr. Markley at the expense of our children.
2 people found this helpful


Roland-Grise Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My child is in 6th grade this year (2013-2014). She is having a great experience. She enjoys her teachers, she is challenged and has enjoyed taking part in extracurricular activities. The principal is responsive and approachable.

Roland-Grise Middle School 4

Posted October 29, 2012
- a community member
Great teachers and staff, old building, don't like office staff. This school is great, except it was built in 1966, so it is a bit old. Also, the office people are grumpy whenever I go in. Amazing, AIG and gifted services.

Roland-Grise Middle School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I love Roland-Grise. MY daughter was slightly behind when we moved here at the beginning of the school year, and the teachers went above and beyond to help here get caught. They really encourage parents to get involved and help out.


Roland-Grise Middle School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a parent
RG is a great middle school! We have been very pleased with all aspects of her education. All middle schools can be challenging but I think the administration does a great job keeping each grade level apart from others. Things seem to be just getting better as the years go by. We currently have 2 children attending.

Roland-Grise Middle School 4

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in the AIG (gifted) program at RG. My husband and I are more than impressed with the educational instruction. There are some behavioral issues outside of the classroom (fighting in the school yard, bullying on the bus, etc) but no more than in any middle school. My daughter loves RG.

Roland-Grise Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Roland-Grise Middle School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Roland-Grise Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
We had a horrible experience with Administration during the time our child was supposed to attend RG in 2006, requiring that we move to a private school. Discipline issues were not being addressed at RG as promised & our child was subject to unnecessary punishment. Three years later, I am here to say that our child is excelling in all subjects & was just inducted into the Beta Club, a select group. The teachers in the private school have guided her in developing incredible study skills which will prove beneficial as she moves forward in the education path. I sadly doubt this would have occurred at RG. We made the right decision to move her from RG. Maybe the RG Adm needs to consider parents' concerns more seriously. Middle school years are crucial years in study habit/skills development.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roland-Grise Middle School
4412 Lake Ave, Wilmington, NC  28403
(910) 350-2136
Last modified Roland-Grise Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roland-Grise Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.