Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a student
Here at IBEC you have to want to learn. The transition from middle school to IBEC can be challenging, but all of the teachers are willing to help. Teachers here are fun and can be your friend, but you MUST do their work! You must also be willing to give up sports and after school activites because of the 2 hours to 3 hours worth of homework EVERY NIGHT! You can apply and "shadow" a student all day to see how you like it before deciding if you want to go to IBEC. My only complaint is the school size!

Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a student
Every day at this school is truly a blessing. It's a great environment, with caring teachers who actually like to teach, students who want to learn, and an administrative team which is obsessed with the schools success. As for extracurricular activities, there are student clubs, which are teacher-made classes which provide a weekly opportunity for students to express themselves. There are three major entities which direct the school. These include the PTSA, newly-formed SGA, and the Administrative Staff. Students, if they wish, may be involved in the PTSA and SGA. They also must complete a minimum of 100 hours of community service a year. I believe that IBEC has a lot of support from students, parents, and teachers alike. It is one of the top 5 schools in North Carolina, and a great school to attend and be apart of.


Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
Well, this school is a great opportunity to succeed. It's a place for students who actually want to learn, as opposed to those who mess around and don't do anything. Also, the small community lets you get close to the teachers and students. I've probably learned more in my first year at Isaac Bear than those 3 useless years in middle school.

Isaac M Bear High 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
It's such a small, close enviroment; the teachers all know you and try to help you in any way possible and their method of teaching is absolutly phenomal, I make better grades than I did in easier middle school classes.

Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted September 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
I love Isaac Bear for its small environment and personal attention never mention the free college experience!!!!

Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
My son and both his father & I love Isaac Bear. Teachers are available and are caring.The students have to work hard and b/c of the pace, it takes a lot of hours of studying, but for my son, it is well worth it. This fall, at 16 years old, he is starting at UNCW. He is so excited. If he has problems, Isaac Bear will continue to advise,tutor, and mentor him. Ms.Gurley is a great principal and is very generous with her time and knowledge. Thank you to all the teachers. I know you have put in extra time in doing your homework as well. Sincerely, a parent

Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a parent
My daughter absolutly loves this school. The teachers are great and really care about their students. This school offers all honor courses and allows the student to attend UNCW during their Junior & Senoir years. What a terrific school!


Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Isaac M Bear High 5

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
This school is one of the Best school in New Hanover county schools. And is one of the top schools in NC.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

630 Macmillan Avenue
Wilmington, NC 28403

(910) 962-4246
(910) 350-1392

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Isaac M Bear High
630 Macmillan Avenue, Wilmington, NC  28403
(910) 962-4246
Last modified Isaac M Bear High is a public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Isaac M Bear High Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.