Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilmington Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Worse school ever, no public school in the nation is as terrible as WPA, if the school system can't handle a bad kid, this kid will end at WPA. Parents never show up for anything, Principal doesn't care, teachers handle kids as booth camp because they have too, if you have a good kid this is not a good place. Honestly this place is like jail because the population and management and that's the honest true.

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school!! My Granddaughter loves to get up every morning and go she doesn't want to miss anything. Mrs Sanchez is a great teacher, she spends time with each of her students and the class size is perfect!!


Wilmington Preparatory Academy 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school. They have come a long way over the years and continue to progress.

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 4

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
This school has a great staff. Many students who were failing or bullied thrive at WPA. Small class sizes and dedicated teachers make a huge difference!

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves the school. The teachers are great and hard working. Need more parent involvement but they are working on it.


Wilmington Preparatory Academy 4

Posted February 02, 2011
- a community member
Wilmington Prep is a great school! The tuition is free and they really care about the students!! The curriculum is great and students are learning how to play violin from a great violinist!

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a teacher
I am a teacher at WPA, and this has been a successful school year. I am amazed by the quality of the reading program that this school has implemented and the Core Knowledge Program. The Core Knowledge Program provides engaging and aunthentic learning experiences for elementary students. These students finish the school year having absorbed knowledge that is typically learned in high school.

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a teacher
WPA has caring staff that are highly qualified, many have master degrees. The student teacher ratio is excellent, the core knowledge curriculum paired with direct instruction and inquiry learning is giving the students a well rounded education. We offer Spanish, chorus, violin classes as well as PE and Computer lab. I am able to take my students on field trips frequently to expand their horizons and reinforce my lessons. The academics are rigorous but the students are motivated and excited about learning which makes me a better teacher.


Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a teacher
I teach at Wilmington Prep. We have a dedicated staff who is committed to the success of each of their students'. We have a small teacher to student ratio, therefore we are able to cover a lot of subject matter each day. We also offer Spanish to all grade levels, along with violin, music, and soccer. We encourage learning thru hands on experiences by offering various field trips and community projects. This school offers students a well rounded education absolutely tuition free.

Wilmington Preparatory Academy 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
This school is brand new and With a lot of changes and moves made to help this school excel the teachers have remained in love and helping with each child individually. THere is nothing the school isn't willing to do to help the child succeed in the classroom and in life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilmington Preparatory Academy
4905 South College Road, Wilmington, NC  28403
(910) 799-5232
Last modified Wilmington Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilmington Preparatory Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.