Advertisement

Wilson Christian Academy

Private | K

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilson

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $86,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $738.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2013

Wilson Christian Academy is a school centered on biblical principles and focused on the growth of the individual students. Class sizes vary, but the teachers keep them disciplined and invest not only academic lessons, but spiritual ones also. Students are challenged to grow in all areas of their life, through academics, fine arts, sports, and other extra curricular activities. If you haven't checked out the school, you should. No school or teacher is perfect; no parent or student is perfect either, but this school takes the time to biblically balance students' priorities. I appreciate all that they have invested in me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I am a graduate of WCA. I also have a daugter in middle school. WCA is not a perfect school, but it is the best choice for us. Biblical principles are taught without prejudice or political correctness. History is taught without excluding the facts that might offend someone. My daughter starts each day of school with prayer and reciting the pledge of allegiance. She may not get a scholarship to Harvard or Yale but she will know what our country was founded on and most importantly, she will be exposed to Biblical teaching and preaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Great school. I have 2 children enrolled at WCA. My wife and I could not be happier with our choice of schools. Excellent teachers and strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I am a parent of 2 children at Wilson Christian, one is 4 in pre-school and the other one is 8 in 3rd grade. They love it and so do I. I am happier and my children are happy. They have great christian values and teach them to the children. It has been the best 2 years. I am blessed to have my children in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I am a Christian who attended WCA as a child, and I just transferred my son to public school this year, after spending two and one-half years having him enrolled in WCA. I am facing a 'nightmare' with him now academically, specifically in math. When he entered WCA, he was above grade level in math and language arts. He is now BELOW what the state of NC considers to be even 'proficient,' in math, and I am having to tutor him at home, and with a certified math teacher. Most of the staff are excellent teachers and are very caring, but not all of them are trained to teach in their fields, unfortuantely. The Christian environment is excellent at WCA, as is the discipline, but this school SHOULD at least meet the BASIC state and national guidelines in core subjects. Every child deserves a qualified teacher, academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I am a parent of a child at Wilson Christian Academy and have been for 12 years. I think the staff and teachers are wonderful. They care for your kids spiritually and academically. It is a safe, caring and Christian environment to send your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

Only pick this school if your children are angels! The staff and administration pick favorites and treat the other children like they are the devil. This school does not nurture or provide the Christian atmosphere they proclaim. Some teachers even call the students names such are retarded. God teaches us to love one another and not to provoke children. Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. I wonder what dark secrets would be revealed if the roles were reversed. Only send your children here if you want them to feel like they are not worthy of Gods love.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 53%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 32%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1820 Airport Blvd W
Wilson, NC 27893
Phone: (252) 237-8064

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Wells Elementary
Wilson, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT