Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reynolds High
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
In the past the school has had some not so good principals, but Mrs. Alexander is an awesome administrator and she will do great things for Reynolds.

Reynolds High
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
everyone gets along and its a melting pot. students from all walks of life it is one of the most sought after High Schools and the History of it is awesome.


Reynolds High
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
RJR is an awesome school. I have a daughter that graduated in 2015 and loved her 4 years there. I have a 11th and 10th grader also. They love their arts classes especially. The arts teachers, Mr. Hicks, Mrs. Rehder, Mrs. moody etc are awesome. Mr. Wiley, and Mr. Rodney Allen are some of the best teachers. My daughters have learned so much from them. Mr. Allen has been the influence for my daughter to want to be an English teacher. Mrs. Alexander the principal is awesome. if you are thinking of Reynolds for your child's education you can not go wrong...

Reynolds High
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I agree that it does.love Reynolds. My kids have grown tremendously there. go RJR amazing school

Reynolds High 1

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
If you are considering RJR as your high school but can get into a different school, please do so. This school has a beautiful campus, but other than that, everything sucks. It's been going downhill for a couple of years, but now there is a new principle and she is determined to make this school a living hell for its students. It feels like I'm going to prison. She is awful. Please avoid this school. I am more than ready to get out of here & I would even transfer if I could.


Reynolds High
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
It honestly varies from teacher to teacher. Some have a great lesson and activity planned for the day while others do boring/busy work.

Reynolds High
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
Honestly, there's some classes that give a fair amount of homework, and this is usually because the teachers realize students have work and other after school responsibilities. Some teachers are just lazy and make you do most of the work outside of class. Depends on the teacher.

Reynolds High
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
The school has MANY clubs and sports and groups you can join. This is the one good thing about Reynolds, there's something for everyone. This builds good determination in students.


Reynolds High
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
I don't think that the school shows respect for the students over all. there are some great teachers and staff, but for the most part, the guidance counselors are always too busy.

Reynolds High
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
If you are a girl and you're out of dress code even a little bit, they will make you pay for a shirt. They're way too strict on this, not on what matters.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reynolds High
301 North Hawthorne Rd, Winston Salem, NC  27104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (336) 727-2061
Last modified Reynolds High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top