Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Downtown Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
I am glad this school is closed, should have been closed long ago! I would not send my dog there!

Downtown Middle School 4

Posted December 27, 2010
- a parent
My son has enjoyed DTMS, 6th and 7th grade. The teachers are great and create great opportunities for learning. The teachers make the difference! They think out side the box/book and teach the concepts using what the kids like. The teachers hooks them in and Volia! they are learning! Excellent administrative staff that welcomes parents!! They love to see parents - if you are looking for a school that pays attention to the individual child and not to an overall AYP please come to DTMS.


Downtown Middle School 4

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
My kids have really enjoyed DTMS. They get great one-on-one attention and it's like one big family there. Both have excelled academically and grown as people too. I highly recommend DTMS as a great alternative to the crowded, impersonal middle schools in Forsyth County.

Downtown Middle School
no rating

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent that had a great experience with my first son going to Downtown Middle School and contuing on to West . My second son started in the 5th grade program and is looking forward to a great 7th grade school year. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants to be involved with the teachers and your child, volunteering is a plus at this school. I am looking forward to all the positive changes including the new Principal who is so nice. If you are looking for a different kind of learning atmosphere that goes beyond the book concept, DownTown Middle is a great alternative. It is a charter School but no tuition.

Downtown Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school and curriculum. New principal stepping in with many new and exciting ideas for the school. Located in the heart of downtown Winston-Salem. Convenient to many areas conducive to learning, such as Old Salem, The Children's Museum and more. Very large hands-on learning and 'think out of the box' teaching. Downtown Middle school follows the Winston-Salem-Forsyth County School curriculum and also allows my child to critically think. Excellent environment for my child to think, learn and express himself as an individual. Smaller classrooms which invite participation, thinking and learning from the students and the teachers alike. Would recommend this middle school to anyone looking for a tuition-free education with a private school feel.


Downtown Middle School 5

Posted December 07, 2008
- a community member
This school is very safe and orderly.It is one of the safest middle schools in Winston Salem.Great teachers and principal.

Downtown Middle School
no rating

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
My child has reported on a daily basis about the numerous substitutes, behavioral problems, and overall disrespect from students. It has been a nightmare. If educators are in the business of providing a safe foundation for success with our students, this school is failing miserably!

Downtown Middle School
no rating

Posted November 27, 2008
- a parent
Excellent leadership at this school.The new principal is making a tremendous difference with the school.


Downtown Middle School 4

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has completed the sixth grade at DTMS. It is a terrific learning enviornment for children who are self-motivated and disciplined. The classes are small and the teachers are knowledgeable and caring. But it is not a good environment for families who expect the school to do all of the work, and who are not themselves committed to participating in and monitoring their students' academic and extracurricular activities.

Downtown Middle School
no rating

Posted November 16, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in her first year at DTMS and I have found that the teachers are awful at communication with parents. Written and verbal requests for conferences are ignored. Also, the teachers don't seem to develop their lesson plans based on the individual needs of the students. Sort of a one size fits all phylosophy.

Nearby schools

Downtown Middle School
280 South Liberty St, Winston-Salem, NC  27101
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (336) 748-3838
Last modified Downtown Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8
Top