Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Downtown Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
I am glad this school is closed, should have been closed long ago! I would not send my dog there!

Downtown Middle School 4

Posted December 27, 2010
- a parent
My son has enjoyed DTMS, 6th and 7th grade. The teachers are great and create great opportunities for learning. The teachers make the difference! They think out side the box/book and teach the concepts using what the kids like. The teachers hooks them in and Volia! they are learning! Excellent administrative staff that welcomes parents!! They love to see parents - if you are looking for a school that pays attention to the individual child and not to an overall AYP please come to DTMS.


Downtown Middle School 3

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Downtown Middle School 4

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
My kids have really enjoyed DTMS. They get great one-on-one attention and it's like one big family there. Both have excelled academically and grown as people too. I highly recommend DTMS as a great alternative to the crowded, impersonal middle schools in Forsyth County.

Downtown Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent that had a great experience with my first son going to Downtown Middle School and contuing on to West . My second son started in the 5th grade program and is looking forward to a great 7th grade school year. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants to be involved with the teachers and your child, volunteering is a plus at this school. I am looking forward to all the positive changes including the new Principal who is so nice. If you are looking for a different kind of learning atmosphere that goes beyond the book concept, DownTown Middle is a great alternative. It is a charter School but no tuition.


Downtown Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school and curriculum. New principal stepping in with many new and exciting ideas for the school. Located in the heart of downtown Winston-Salem. Convenient to many areas conducive to learning, such as Old Salem, The Children's Museum and more. Very large hands-on learning and 'think out of the box' teaching. Downtown Middle school follows the Winston-Salem-Forsyth County School curriculum and also allows my child to critically think. Excellent environment for my child to think, learn and express himself as an individual. Smaller classrooms which invite participation, thinking and learning from the students and the teachers alike. Would recommend this middle school to anyone looking for a tuition-free education with a private school feel.

Downtown Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Downtown Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Downtown Middle School 5

Posted December 07, 2008
- a community member
This school is very safe and orderly.It is one of the safest middle schools in Winston Salem.Great teachers and principal.

Downtown Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
My child has reported on a daily basis about the numerous substitutes, behavioral problems, and overall disrespect from students. It has been a nightmare. If educators are in the business of providing a safe foundation for success with our students, this school is failing miserably!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Downtown Middle School
280 South Liberty St, Winston-Salem, NC  27101
(336) 748-3838
Last modified Downtown Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Downtown Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews.