Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
214 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We help our students build foundations for purposeful lives. We work each day to build a community of faith, hope, and love so that each student can learn and grow to be the person God is calling him or her to be. Our rigorous curriculum instills a love of learning in our students, skillfully preparing them to move on to any high school they choose with self-confidence and poise. Our exceptional faculty inspire students to become passionate, well-rounded, and highly-principled individuals who know they are loved and have a purpose to serve in our world. Students learn not only in the classroom, but through important experiences that Mercy is able to provide. From our Buddy program that pairs middle schoolers with our youngest students, encouraging responsibility and creating role models, to the Helping Hands of Mercy group that cultivates a life-long commitment to service and social awareness, our students learn the foundations of leadership and personal responsibility. In addition, we have invested in technology enhancements throughout the school so that all our students have access to tablet devices and interactive whiteboards, which allows our teachers to take content a step further and bring innovation to our already-strong curriculum.
October 24, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
Awful school and terrible teachers .... Second grade teacher, Karlie Stewart, is a complete nightmare who managed to push two families out in the middle of the year, and despite being a part of the Mercy community for over 4 years, we have decided to leave due to the terrible experience we dealt with here. Very disappointed at how horrible this school has become!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and staff go above and beyond and focus on each individual child's needs.


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
This is our third year at OLM (Pre-K, K and 1) and we remain very pleased with the school. We toured several schools in the area and easily chose OLM. We find the school to be a very warm and unpretentious place, while also holding students to a high level of academic rigor and behavioral expectation. The Christian education is also very important to us. While the academics are strong, teaching the students how to be followers of Christ is equally important. Our family is Protestant (Episcopalian) and we feel very much part of the school fiber. Sr. Geri, along with every teacher and staff member we have encountered have been welcoming and gracious. I feel that any of them would do whatever it takes to ensure the children's safety and well being.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Middle school gives the appropriate amount of homework, but grades 2-4 are seeing 2-3 hours of homework every day!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
The school needs to learn to respect students and parents so the students can learn from them - not the other way around!


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Teachers at this school have the habit of lying and blaming the children for their own mistakes. The administration does nothing to help parents when it is brought to their attention!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 1

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
They need a new principal and secretary again! If the secretary and principal aren't "losing" money, they are making ridiculous decisions that put the children in danger - terrible school. Well priced though!!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers need to learn to respect the students and the administration needs to learn to respect the parents and students .... this school leave a lot of room for improvement


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
No the kids are taught not to complain or question anything, even if it is an injustice to another child ... especially if the bully comes from a wealthy family they will not be punished at all!!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone down hill fast! They lose monies turned in and do not make amends, their lunch offering is ridiculous (and God help you if you complain), the middle school has a nightmare of a teacher that is allowed to threaten children and parents (one set of parents is now pursuing legal action against the school), finances are a mess, and the principal is only good for brushing things aside and berating parents if they complain. The school has lost many many families due to their ineptitude. If you love you children do NOT send them to this school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
1730 Link Road, Winston-Salem, NC  27103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (336) 722-7204
Last modified Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top