Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We help our students build foundations for purposeful lives. We work each day to build a community of faith, hope, and love so that each student can learn and grow to be the person God is calling him or her to be. Our rigorous curriculum instills a love of learning in our students, skillfully preparing them to move on to any high school they choose with self-confidence and poise. Our exceptional faculty inspire students to become passionate, well-rounded, and highly-principled individuals who know they are loved and have a purpose to serve in our world. Students learn not only in the classroom, but through important experiences that Mercy is able to provide. From our Buddy program that pairs middle schoolers with our youngest students, encouraging responsibility and creating role models, to the Helping Hands of Mercy group that cultivates a life-long commitment to service and social awareness, our students learn the foundations of leadership and personal responsibility. In addition, we have invested in technology enhancements throughout the school so that all our students have access to tablet devices and interactive whiteboards, which allows our teachers to take content a step further and bring innovation to our already-strong curriculum.
October 24, 2014

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Our Lady of Mercy's academics are second to none but to us, the true sense of family and the warmth which exudes from this school is unlike anything we had ever experienced. Once you walk through the doors of Mercy, you instantly feel as though you are home and the comfort this provides is amazing. This school is far more than just a great school.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
Love the school! My twins were enrolled in the first grade this fall. The school community is diverse, friendly and unpretentious. We are of a different faith and ethnicity , but we believe we have found the right match for our kids - a school that can instill sound moral values while providing a solid academic foundation. The principal (Sis Rogers), is a very approachable person and is a fine administrator. Mrs. Z, the first grade teacher is a teacher who delivers, gentle yet firm!


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
I am very prud that we are able to send our daughters to this amazing school. They won the Blue Ribbon School Of Excellence award this year. This school has dedicated teachers and staff that care for all the children.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
OLM is a nurturing and diverse school. Where children can be children.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent
We chose Our Lady of Mercy School, years ago, because of it's superb education and family atmosphere.


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
We moved to the area 4 years ago and OLM was our first step in joining the community. Not only are our three children challenged academically, OLM also challenges our children to see their place in the world and contribute to the world. As parents, we enjoy hearing compliments from other parents on our children's behavior, behavior that is expected of them not only at home but also at school. Our oldest child only has one more year at OLM before high school, and we're already sad for the departure. OLM distinguishes itself not only for the care and nurturing of our children, but also for the feeling of family that extends to the OLM parent community. We enjoy volunteering in the classroom, on the sporting fields, and anywhere we're needed because we feel part of the OLM family.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
My child transferred in this year for seventh grade; they've helped her to develop a better work ethic and a greater interest in participating in school activities. Her grades have risen and her belief in her own ability to do well has as well.

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
We currently have four children attending OLM (grades 7, 5, 2, and K) and have been very impressed with all aspects of this school. There is a teacher and an assistant in every classroom allowing for more individualized attention to each student s needs. The volunteerism witnessed from other parents has been especially amazing. Our fifth child will begin their new preschool program next year. We are looking forward to another 10 years as a Mercy family!


Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
I have not only worked at OLM for 8 years, I have 4 children who have gone through. When my last finishes the 8th grade next year I will have had a child at OLM for 16 straight years. Need I say more? The educational, moral, religious, and athletic learning that takes place here is fantastic!

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
My youngest son transferred to Our Lady of Mercy half way through first grade. When we moved to the area OLM was actually our third choice--two other private schools in town didn't have room for him. Now he is a rising 8th grader. He has been nurtured, encouraged and challenged at Our Lady of Mercy School. Parental participation, which is so essential for school success, is outstanding. His academic achievement and self esteem are excellent. We feel lucky to have found OLM!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School
1730 Link Road, Winston-Salem, NC  27103
(336) 722-7204
Last modified Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady Of Mercy Catholic School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top